Best Chocolate Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
This is ok, it is very almondy. If i was to make this again, i would either omit the almond essence or add some chopped nuts. I will continue looking for a better pound cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
I have tried at least 10 different chocolate bundt cake recipes over the years and this is the best yet!!!!!! Involves a bit more work with beating egg whites, but well worth it! This cake is very moist & the cinnamon gives it a special taste. Simply the best !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
This recipe was DELICIOUS!!!! I modified it only slightly, because I was ill-prepared. I used 1 1/2 cups of butter instead of shortening and butter, and I used 1 1/2 tsp. of vanilla because I forgot to buy almond extract.I also used a bundt cake pan and put fresh strawberries in the middle and then served it with whipped cream. I was told "this is the best cake I've ever had, EVER!!" by my sister in law!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
this cake doesn't taste like pound cake. But it is a great chocolate cake. got a velvety texture. pretty rich and lives up to expectations of a 'chocolate cake' not so much 'chocolate pound'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I am glad that I did try something different because it turn out wonderful. It was the very first time that I ever bake something from scratch. This is very good website to have because you can learn all kinds of neat stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
GREAT! Very light and fluffy cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
What a wonderful cake. My family loves having it Christmas morning with milk. It has been a hit ever since i made for the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Everyone that I have made this recipe for has just loved it. It is a moist and tasty version of my favorite dessert, pound cake. I dont think I would change anything about it really. I do sift the flour and have used cake flour to make sure I have no lumps. The cinnamon, I added a heaping measurement. It takes this pound cake over the edge. It is perfect for any occasion. Thank you Mary Ann !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pulaski, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
superb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Escanaba, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
I found that mine came out a little bland and didn't taste very chocolaty at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States