Best Chocolate Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Made this yesterday. It was ok, a little on the dry side. I do not know who named it the best chocolate pound cake, as its very far from the best. I would not make this one again. JP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunshinEquine
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This was good. I expected more of a chocolate punch to it. The almond extract makes it a unique chocolate pound cake. the egg whites didn't peak for me though. and it was quite a lot of work. I used a bunt pan and it cooked for only 45 minutes. I made from scratch an almond whipped cream to go with it which paired nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunshinEquine

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Although this definitely wasn't a "pound" cake, it was fabulous. Very light and moist. The taste is reminiscent of a Mexican brownie, probably because of the cinnamon. I added some chocolate chips, as a previous reviewer suggested but I am not sure it really needs it. I dusted the top of the cake with powdered sugar, which was all that it needed. My husband, not really a cake eater, actually went and got a second piece!!! (By the way, the picture shown is NOT a picture of this cake, and might turn people off to trying it. PLEASE get an accurate picture!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I made these for an office christmas party and everyone loved them! I did follow another suggestion for a yellow pound cake (different recipe) of creaming the butter, shortening, and sugar for 25 minutes. I let the butter get to room temperature first. I also added 1 tablespoon and 1/4 teaspoon of vinegar to the milk and allowed to get to room temp to become sour milk, as she had suggested is similar to buttermilk. The only difference between the two cakes was that I used regular sugar on this one. Next time I will be using confectioner's sugar instead because it causes the creamed mixture to be more light and fluffy than the granulated sugar. I'm making this cake again for my decorating class :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I just made this recipe and turns out perfect..Very moist.My daugther like it much..!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyn

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This was a great recipe, my mom my mamaw and me got together to try this cake and it was a huge hit is was so moist and rose to be a beautiful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Morristown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
i was looking for a good chocolate cake recipe and this has to be it for me .. really yummy.. all my friends loved it. i tried it a couple of times, sometimes the sugar doesnt mix properly ! one way to resolve this is to crush the sugar before adding it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This pound cake was amazing. I used Hershey's dark cocoa instead of the regular Hershey's cocoa and it was so rich and tastey. A very moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This is a great chocolate cake. My wife does not like chocolate cake, but she loves this cake. I added some chocolate chips to the cake. The only problem I have with this recipe is that, this is not a pond cake it is a chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Preston Moore

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I wouldn't call this really a pound cake. It was too light. But, it was pretty good. I also felt that it wasn't chocolatey enough. Maybe next time I will add more cocoa or some chocolate chips to the batter. I made a chocolate peanut butter glaze for it and that was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States