Best Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
So good! I added some leftover marshmallow crème I had leftover, and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moorhead, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
A bit sweet for my taste. Next time I would replace 1/3 c powdered sugar with cocoa powder (so 1 full cup cocoa and 2 2/3c powdered sugar). Went together easily
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Rensselaer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Excellent! Simple and deelish. I used it to top a 'cake-in-a-mug' recipe using a smaller amount. Eating it now. Yummmmm! Would definitely use on a full cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Good flavor, but runny and lumpy. Yes, I sifted both the cocoa and the confectioner's sugar. I added more conf. sugar, a little at a time. It didn't help. I'm sorry, but this one just didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PALMETTOMEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This frosting was way too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This was the easiest chocolate frosting I have ever made. It turned out perfect. It was so smooth and creamy. Great idea about mixing the cocoa with the melted butter. I think it made all the difference in the creaminess. I added a couple of tablespoons of Kahlua to the mix and used Fat Free Half and Half instead of milk. Added sugar and half and half gradually in stages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Tasted great, easy to use for decorating cupcakes with a piping bag and tip. Would use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Kinda Bitter but also sweet, made it smooth with 1 mixing beater. followed steps, melted 1/2 cup butter, poured into bowl. added 1/2 the cocapowder, mixed it to smooth, added the reset, mixed to smooth... added 2x vanilla extract, milk, mixed it to smooth it out also thinned it out as well, leave out the milk, but add the 3 cups of sugar, mix it to smooth, add gradually of course it does get thicker!! add 1 more vanilla, splash more of milk, mixed to smooth. it came out fluffy, smooth and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitch C Waldner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Great! Added about 1/2c extra confectioner's sugar. No lumps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This recipe is awesome!! Use high quality cocoa and make sure you break up any large chunks of cocoa. Also - use soft, not melted butter and cream it with the cocoa until smooth. Add 1-cup sugar, and one-third of the 1/3-cup of milk, alternating. This recipe is smooth, yummy and just the right consistency !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

Chocolate Cupcakes

These cupcakes are moist, delicious, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States