Best Chocolate Chippers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This is the chocolate chip cookie I have been looking for, mind you I do not like cake like cookies. So, if you want a cake like cookie don't bother with this recipe. I feel if you want cake - eat cake. If you want a cookie then the cookie should taste like a cookie and by that I mean the texture should be crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside and that is exactly what these cookies deliver. I reduced the oil by 1/4 cup and refridgerated the dough for 30 minutes, rolled the dough into walnut sized balls then flattened them slightly. They baked up perfectly round, flattened, and slightly cracked in appearance. They looked like they came staight from a bakery. Great recipe, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Just like everyone else, I'm very particular about my chocolate chip cookies. Frankly, I don't care if they're crispy, chewy or cakey so long as they're delicious and baked properly. The debate will go on forever as to which is "the best" as there are so many good recipes--and this is certainly one of them. I prepared them exactly as the recipe directs, wanting to judge the outcome for myself, and they were perfect. I chilled the dough to firm it a little to avoid spreading, then used a small ice cream scoop and flattened them just slightly--I found they come out of the oven much as they go in. These are perfectly shaped, rounded, beautiful cookies that didn't flatten out--picture perfect. It is not a novel idea to use both oil and butter in cookies, nor is the addition of cream of tartar. These were NOT greasy as some reviewers mentioned, and the cream of tartar gives them a pleasant, light and sandy texture. I don't know if this is "the best" chocolate chip cookie out there(because there will NEVER be one) but these sure are darn good! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
If you like cakey cookies, stay away from this recipe. Although the "typical" chocolate chip cookie lover likes his/her cookies soft and chewy, there are some of us that prefer a crispier cookie. It is exactly as the name states: Chocolate Chippers. Why there are so many people that gave it a bad review is beyond me. I don't try recipes that don't sound like something I would like, so why would they?? Tina, I'm with all those people that think your cookies are great. Thanks so much for the recipe!! It seems like every recipe I try for chocolate chip cookies makes soft chewy cookies that just do not satisfy my cravings but this one is perfect. For those that don't like the dough so greasy, if you reduce the oil to 1/2 cup it will give you a combo of both cripsy and soft cookie. The taste is WONDERFUL! Thanks again Tina!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy of Five

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Overall, this was a dry cookie. I scaled to 24, used canola oil in place of vegetable and only a handful of crushed walnuts. I ran out of time and had to refrigerate the dough overnight before making. The next day, I let dough come to room temperature before baking. My first tray was 1 1/2" cookies baked for minimal time stated, bottoms came out too brown. Next tray was 2 1/2" cookies and these were better. I placed in an airtight container overnight but no difference in texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
sweet, light, and yummy! these did fall apart a little when trying to get them onto the cookie sheet, but I love crispy chocolate chip cookies, so I didn't mind the dryness of the dough. like I said....these are REALLY good cookies :) thanks Tina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pretty_in_pink_pa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2002
This is now my best cookie recipe! I use it for the basis of all my cookies and just love it. I've made some variations but the original is also good. I subsitute butter shortening for the vegetable oil and butter - I found that makes them softer. Also I add 2 tablespoons of milk or cream with the eggs. Thanks for an invaluable recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
I too have tried many many chocolate chip cookie recipes and have been baking for years. These are indeed the very best chocolate chip cookies I have ever made. They were a huge hit in my house! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
This is the chocolate chip cookie recipe that I have been looking for, and I to have been baking for years!! It has very light and crispy texture. I did decrease the oil to 3/4 cup, baking soda to l tsp, and salt to l/2 tsp. I used a hand beater for the creamed mixture; but when adding the dry ingredients, I used a wooden spoon, as suggested by Tina. Bake just until bottoms are golden brown, watch closely. Thank you so much for sharing Tina!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
Absolutely excellent choc chippers! I really don't like chewy cookies, and these were crispy, easy to make and perfect. Just some advice: lessen the oil slightly. Thanks for the great recipe, Tina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
These cookies were good. They melt in your mouth but have a fluffy, powder like cookie. Also very oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States