Best Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2002
My son did this for a cooking class project. What a huge disappointment it was. It would not come out of the pan (note: it says to only grease the pan, not flour). It was very crumbly and dry. It had to be cooked longer than it said to have the middle done. The frosting was okay, didn't hardly cover the cake. My husband's comment was it seemed to be missing something. I watched my son make this and he didn't leave anything out. I would never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I thought this cake needs more chocolate and maybe a teaspoon more of vanilla. But the frosting was very good. By the time the middle of the cake was done the sides were really dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
The name says it all. This was really the best chocolate cake! The cake turned out perfectly moist and the frosting...absolutely delicious! My dad said it was the best chocolate cake he's tasted! AND the directions were easy to follow! If you want the best, try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by frogqueen33
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
WoW this cake is great! Other users must of done something wrong in recipe. This cake is moist it does taste like a frosted brownie but with a cake like texture.I love it *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frogqueen33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
Your family will love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
My cake turned out awesome! I cant wait to make it again. The frosting was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2000
Hi, Very Good!! Bianca
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
This was very good! I did not think the overall appearance was very good though. The frosting tasted great, but it looked very thick and was very hard to spread. It was a big hit with my grandparents who came to visit and my family, I just was not as impressed with the looks of it. Thanks for the recipe I'm sure I'll use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesusislife

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2000
The taste of the cake was good, but it did not come out moist enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2000
Very good cake, everyone really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States