Best Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I tried 2 of allrecipes "best ever" and the only good thing I could say was that they were both easy to make and the frostings was great. I wouldn't waste my time or the ingredients on this cake again but the frosting is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I didn't really care for this. Texture & taste just weren't to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
This cake is a definate for a chocohilic(my mom) every one loved it. I do recommend a tablespoon or 2 more in the cake mix ohhh mabe even some chocolate chips. Next time i think ill add some candied pecans on top too...YuMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I did not like this cake. I'm don't want to criticize this cake, but I must say that it is not my cup of tea. I would like to recommend "Elsa's Great Homemade Chocolate Cake" at cooks.com. It's amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessica bushell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Washington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
This is the first chocolate cake I could eat without frosting it was so good and moist. My husband said it was the best cake I ever made. I did have to cook my cake longer around 25 minutes but I had no problem getting mine out of the pan. It was so good I made it again the very next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
The only change that I would suggest is to change the baking temp. from 400 degrees to 350 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
My 3 year old and i had a swell time making this cake. I used cake flour and halved the recipe so it would fit into an 8" round pan. I did grease and flour the pan. (always do) it was done in the time stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOMJANICE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This cake was a big hit at my nieces 1st birthday party. It is moist and not overpoweringly rich or sweet. It was the 1st time everyone finished their whole piece of cake. The frosting is soooo delicious! it tastes like christmas fudge. The cake would be naked without this frosting. It makes a great cake filler as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
I picked this recipe because I had all the ingredients at home (I love the ingredient search!). These were really good. I made cupcakes with this recipe and they are disappearing!! FAST! I followed the recipe to a T. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Stewart, Georgia, USA
Living In: Wilson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I never let a bad rating make me not try a recipe, so I tried this one. I made 2 9inch rounds. One I had to throw out, the bottom was burnt. Although it said 400 I don't know what happened. The other I savaged and it tasted allright, and I have to admit I added more cocoa. Probably about an additional 1/4 which made it more chocolatey. I would suggest baking this at 350. I also would add more cocoa or use a premium grade I used Nestle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fbarkon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States