Best Chicken Salad Ever I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
this was very good.......I kind off tweaked it a little, I am not a fan of pecans so I added crushed almonds, and I did mayo instead of the salad dressing, and no sweet relish, not one of my fav's that pickle relish. But it was awesome most def will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karlitas_way

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I ended up enjoying this recipe, though the proportions in my opinion are a bit off. As written, the salad was a bit dry w/ too much "stuff" and too little chicken. I made again, and this time omitted the celery, cut the nuts down to 1/2 cup (changed to almonds for personal preference), used light mayo, and used slightly less apple. Much better! Great base recipe, and the canned chicken did make it really convenient when packing lunch on a busy weeknight w/ no time to cook chicken. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN78RN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Very good! I used craisins instead of raisins and ate it with croisants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This was pretty good, but needed some modifying. I felt it needed more chicken so I increased to a 13 oz. can. Kept the same amount of apples, pecans and raisins (I used craisins). Increased the mayo and pickle relish by quite a bit. Served in whole wheat pita pockets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Excellent! Kids love this salad. Served on whole wheat bread. Used a lil honey instead of relish. Didn't have nuts but is just as good without. Will definitely make again. Great way to use up apples or leftover chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mandan, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Really good! I used left over chicken instead of canned. Light mayo but what really made it was a teaspoon (maybe a little more) of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Great beginning to a recipe. I used mayo instead of salad dressing and walnuts instead of pecans. I despise relish so I added a bit more mayo (about a teaspoon or so) and some lemon juice (so the apples don't brown). I didn't add celery. Added some curry powder also...about a teaspoon or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redfisher80

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I’ve saved several chicken salad recipes from this site in my recipe box but after making this one, I may never try any of the others. My favorite way to make this is with 2 (12.5 oz) cans of chicken, 6 T mayonnaise, and red grapes in place of the raisins. I omit the celery and throw in a couple of chopped bread and butter pickles because I rarely have relish. Absolutely wonderful on a croissant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenenski Family
Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I use a 7-oz. pouch of chicken (better texture than the canned stuff), 6 tablespoons of mayonnaise instead of the Miracle Whip, and no raisins. Sometimes no celery, either, if I don't have any. It turns out well; my mom thought so too, when I gave her the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This salad is a no brainer: chop, mix, eat. I've made it with various fruit/nut combinations, my favorite being apple, grapes, dried cranberries, walnuts. I've used light mayo, and also greek yogurt for dressing and both worked well, although I added lemon juice and extra salt and pepper with the yogurt. The salad is always better after it's had a couple of hours to sit in the fridge. It's 4 stars instead of 5 because with canned chicken & relish it tastes a lot like a tuna salad we've been making for years... of course that could be because the canned chicken I buy isn't very chickeny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States