Best Chicken Salad Ever I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
I am a product demonstrator at Sam's club here in Maine and often try new recipes. today I used this one and the members loved it. I used mayo instead of creamy salad dressing but the apples were very juicy and so it definitely was not dry. I gave out 16 copies of the recipe and could have given out several more but that's all I had. A couple members took the info on the website so they could check it out.It was really a hit.I even bought some of the chicken to make this for my family reunion.I used Fuji apples and they added just the right touch of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2002
I waited a long time before sending this negative review. This is still not the chicken salad recipe I am looking for. Even after using a 10 ounce can of chunk chicken, it still tasted too much like just a fruit salad...too much apple, raisins, nuts, etc. Talq
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
After adding additional celery & Miracle Whip and omitting the pecans, all at the suggestion of my children, and substituting dried cranberries for the raisins, , it was GREAT! The whole family loved it in pita pockets with lettuce. We also tried it on toasted hamburger buns with lettuce and it was just as good. I think the crunch of the pecans would add a nice texture but alas, the children's desires always rule. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
Easy and delicious! The amounts of all ingredients can be adjusted to personal taste. I used more celery, dried cranberries instead of raisins, and lots of miracle whip plus nonfat sour cream. My guests loved it as a side salad and the leftovers made yummy sandwhiches the next day. I'll make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Samantha, it looks like a day at home with your brother was very rewarding. This recipe makes outstanding chicken salad. Because I love the extra clean crunch that celery gives, I increased the celery to a whole stalk. The raisins, apples,and sweet pickles add a wonderful dimension to an otherwise savory salad. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
This salad is a winner. Very tasty & was a great way to use up left over chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2001
This recipe was a hit at our family weekend getaway. I made the salad ahead of time so the juices could really juice. Then at the cottage I added the raisins and apples. Served it with pitas. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
We loved this! We also loved it with mango chutney instead of relish and a bit of curry powder. Just a variation, but we were happy with both. It tastes great on greens with raspberry vinaigrette, too, for a change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
This salad is so delicious! I don’t know if I like it more as a salad or as a sandwich on a croissant. After you have it on a croissant, no other breads will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJSMITH7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2002
I made finger sandwiches from this recipe for a baby shower and I got awesome reviews. I don't care for raisins so I left them out and I usually don't like the meat/fruit combination, but the Granny Smith apples I used were the perfect additon to this chicken salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States