Best Chicken Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
To call this salad "the best" is a little ambitious, but it is good, and definitely worth making. I substituted only one of the avocados for a can of artichoke hearts to be a little more health conscious, and used Kraft's Light Done Right Ranch. hint: almost any light dressing loses a lot of its inherent ickiness if tossed in salad and not plopped on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eatontown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
This salad was a surprise hit with my guys, I used grape tomatoes instead of cherry and only 1/4 of a Vidalia onion since a whole one seemed way too much, my husband recommended I also add in a chopped cucumber in addition to the avacado since it is so mild in flavor. I am not a fan of ranch anything, but this was really good, I would recommend it to anyone looking for something different from the usual mayo covered salads you find at cookouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
Boy was this good. I regret not having an avocado. But even without it the pasta salad was fantastic. I added some parmesan cheese and that gave it a nice flavor as well. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I made this for a family function and people loved it! They kept asking what was in it -- they could taste the avacado, but couldn't identify it. It was really different and better than regular chicken salad. (I added black olives too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
We loved this pasta salad, but with a few changes. We don't love ranch dressing, so I added some Franks Hot Sauce, pepper and celery salt to the dressing and that tasted great. I also added some garlic powder to the steak sauce so it wouldn't be as sweet. I used a little less onion because a whole one seemed like a lot. I think next time I will toss in a third chicken breast. This is a very tasty recipe that I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe. My Dad just went wild over it. I used red onions (they're a lot stronger so I used far less than the recipe called for) because Vidalia Onions aren't in season. Although they were adequate in a pinch, I think the sweet onions would compliment the dish a little bit better. I also broiled the chicken rather than grilling it (b/c of the snow), which worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
This recipe is pretty good although it is VERY ranch dressing tasting. I think I am going to add some other things to it next time as well, maybe some chopped carrots or green onions or something...seems like it was missing a certain flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2004
Yum! We had this for dinner and again for lunch the next day/ I added celery for an added crunch. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
Good pasta salad! I used four chicken breasts instead of two to make it "husband friendly," Ken's Lite Ranch Dressing, and substituted green bell pepper for the avocado. Next time I will use a different kind of pasta. The flavor of the chicken marinated in the steak sauce was very tasty. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2002
Sorry, but I did not like this recipe at all. The A1 marinade didn't go well. The avacados made the salad kind of green and I think it is very bland. This salad was a waste of time and money. Besides my brother no one in my family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States