Best Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
So easy to make and my husband loved it! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie V

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
It was just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krishan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Very Good...Hit at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Excellent, with 1/4tsp each cinnamon and nutmeg, 2T lemon juice and only 3/4 cup sugar to make a more tart and spicy filling. Much better warm than at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Pie tastes good, but the suggestion of brushing the top with light egg yolk did not turn out well... looked more like a quiche baked top than like a pie should. I recommend brushing the top with egg white to get that pastry glow, instead of egg yolk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Filling is little too small. The second time I tried ti, I couldn't find a 20oz. can, so I used 2 16 oz. cans, and It worked out great, there was plenty of filling. Also substituted vanilla, and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I made this recipe with fresh cherries, crushing the cherries, draining off the liquid and adding a bit of water to make up the difference to achieve 1 cup. Also was out of almond extract and substituted vanilla. GREAT results! The family LOVED it. Making it the same way each time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci Arbios

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Ironically enough, this is the best recipe I've found so far for cherry pie. Nothing will bring a smile to your face like watching people fight over that last piece of pie. Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wrygurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Most important tip: Use arrowroot instead of the flour for a beautiful filling! This is an excellent pie. However like others, I changed it up a bit. I couldn't find either 10 or 20oz cans and used 2 14.5oz cans of sour cherries and was glad I did. I was perhaps using a slightly deeper dish than others had, but I wanted a pie bursting with cherries. I did NOT cut the sugar. I think some of the other reviewers were using pie filling cherries. You need to use cans of SOUR cherries. They will be labeled as such. The first time I made this I used the flour to thicken, but it made the filling look pink. Next time I used 2 1/2 T of Arrowroot instead and it came out a beautiful, clear red color. You won't need to use the red food coloring. Arrowroot is a more expensive, but you use less and it's worth it! And as others have said, brush with egg WHITE, not yolk. (To save time, I used a ready-made Pillsbury crust.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
it was good,it was my first cherry pie,so i didn't latice it right:). I'm glad i took the advice of other viewers b/c to me even 3/4 cup of sugar was just a bit much.The cinnamon and the cloves really added something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States