Best Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I made this pie and it turned out good. :) I think I need to make it a few more times to perfect it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KevinBerry7406
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
What a great pie!! I changed a few things based on others' suggestions. I used corn starch instead of flour, added 1 tbsp of lemon juice to balance out the sweetness, used a whole egg for the egg wash, eliminated the red food coloring (was already red enough), and cooked the pie at 425F for 10 minutes, and the 350F for 25 minutes. The pie turned out fantastic and it's the best cherry pie I've ever had. I would probably double the filling for the next time we make it so that we have a thicker pie, but it still tastes amazing as is! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KevinBerry7406

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
we never have leftover pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Best cherry pie, ever! However, I did not add any food coloring. I use corn starch instead of flour and the filling stays a gorgeous, translucent red color all on its own. Also, some questioned the high baking temperature, but this is because you are not really baking the pie filling, just baking the crust. The high heat does that quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I found this recipe years ago and tossed all my other cherry pie recipes. No need to continue to search. This is perfection. I have a sweet tooth and used 1 cup of sugar. I'm the cherry pie lover in the family and if no one wants to help me eat it, I just call my neighbor who is only too happy to assist me! Can't say it enough, it's the perfect cherry pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I really wanted to love this recipe, but it just didn't amaze me. It tasted pretty much the same as canned pie filling. It was a decent pie, but I wouldn't go out of my way to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Good but not great. The consistency was very thick. It was very sweet, I would've preferred it to be more tart. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjhutch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This recipe is fantastic. I did use corn starch instead of flour; just personal preference. I had a deep dish pie plate so I used 2-20oz jars of sour cherries and it was the perfect amount. I have always taken the easy way out and used canned cherry pie filling... never again! This pie was EASY & absolutely DELISH and my brother whose fave pie is cherry raved and asked for the recipe. And my brother-in-law who rarely gives compliments about anything loved it too! THANK YOU for this super recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I have been searching for a cherry pie recipe that tastes like my husband's grandmother's pie! This is it! I didn't follow recipe exactly because I like more cherries so I adjusted the other ingredients to accomodate 4 C sour cherries. (1-1/2 C cherry juice, 1-1/2 C sugar, 2/3 c flour, 3T butter - no almond flavoring or food coloring) I baked it @ 425 for 55 minutes. The top & bottom crust was a golden brown. This is the only recipe I will use for cherry pie from now on. If you like the filling less thick, just decrease the flour by 1/6 C. Absolutely delicious! The flour & butter makes the difference in flavor from pies thickened with cornstarch or tapioca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Lake Wales, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. The only problem was that the filling was somewhat runny, even though it was very thick when I put it in the crust to bake. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States