Best Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
best pie ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!^-^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This is an old chestnut of a recipe. I've been baking it using this same formula for over 30 years now, with the exception of using 1-2 Tb fresh lemon juice, added along with the cherries and extract. Using the lemon juice avoids the cloying sweetness that some have found objectionable. Those who think it's the same as canned cherry pie filling have to be kidding! That stuff is bright red goo with a few cherries floating around in it. This produces a cherry-packed filling that fits best in an 8" pie pan. For a 10" pie I always double this recipe, and it comes out nice and full. For those who have trouble with the crust browning too much or burning, just crimp a 2" strip of foil (you will need 3-4, depending on the size of pie you're baking. Join the strips end-to-end by folding thinly together to make one long strip) around the crust edges. Remove for the last 15 minutes of baking. Voila! Perfectly baked crusts every time. This filling recipe also works beautifully as a topping for cheesecakes, pound cakes, ice cream, etc. Provided you make a quality crust, this truly does produce the Best Cherry Pie you'll ever eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
this really is the best cherry pie! the name doesn't lie.. mm mm YUMMY! AAAAA++++!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Turned out great!!! It was so good that I had to make another. The edges were a little TOO dark for my taste though. On the second one I lowered the temp. to just 400. Other than that it was DELICIOUSE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coalinga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by littlewestwalker
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This was soo good! BUT, I had to add some things to make it so good. The recipe as it is, is a bit flavorless and a bit too sweet. The sweetness is just my opinion but to give it more flavor I added lots of cinnamon and freshly grounded nutmeg. Unfortunately, my pie wasn't that good because my crust failed but the filling: YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlewestwalker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Everyone in my family LOVED the pie (so much my mother actually stole the quarter I have left aside for my cousin). I did cut the sugar to 3/4 as suggested, and added a little bit of nutmeg, because I like spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I wasn't thrilled with the taste of the filling. The problem may be that I used canned tart cherries rather than fresh. The filling tasted like cherry pop-tarts and that's not a good thing. I'll try fresh next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Li

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Shauna Ballard Phillips
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This pie deserves its name! It is not so sweet and it is just perfect on all ingredients! A++++ Don't change a thing..all of my family has asked for me to make this instead of a birthday cake for them! *LOL*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
excellent cherry pie and very simple! I went to MI yesterday and froze alot of cherries but just had to make a pie. I did not have almond flavoring and it did not need it. Very good. I used my own crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Culp Wenzelmaier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Filling is great, but the recipe needs alterations. Do NOT use egg yolk! Use egg white! This was the ugliest pie I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy E.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States