Best Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I made this recipe with fresh cherries, crushing the cherries, draining off the liquid and adding a bit of water to make up the difference to achieve 1 cup. Also was out of almond extract and substituted vanilla. GREAT results! The family LOVED it. Making it the same way each time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci Arbios

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Ironically enough, this is the best recipe I've found so far for cherry pie. Nothing will bring a smile to your face like watching people fight over that last piece of pie. Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wrygurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Most important tip: Use arrowroot instead of the flour for a beautiful filling! This is an excellent pie. However like others, I changed it up a bit. I couldn't find either 10 or 20oz cans and used 2 14.5oz cans of sour cherries and was glad I did. I was perhaps using a slightly deeper dish than others had, but I wanted a pie bursting with cherries. I did NOT cut the sugar. I think some of the other reviewers were using pie filling cherries. You need to use cans of SOUR cherries. They will be labeled as such. The first time I made this I used the flour to thicken, but it made the filling look pink. Next time I used 2 1/2 T of Arrowroot instead and it came out a beautiful, clear red color. You won't need to use the red food coloring. Arrowroot is a more expensive, but you use less and it's worth it! And as others have said, brush with egg WHITE, not yolk. (To save time, I used a ready-made Pillsbury crust.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
it was good,it was my first cherry pie,so i didn't latice it right:). I'm glad i took the advice of other viewers b/c to me even 3/4 cup of sugar was just a bit much.The cinnamon and the cloves really added something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
best pie ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!^-^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This is an old chestnut of a recipe. I've been baking it using this same formula for over 30 years now, with the exception of using 1-2 Tb fresh lemon juice, added along with the cherries and extract. Using the lemon juice avoids the cloying sweetness that some have found objectionable. Those who think it's the same as canned cherry pie filling have to be kidding! That stuff is bright red goo with a few cherries floating around in it. This produces a cherry-packed filling that fits best in an 8" pie pan. For a 10" pie I always double this recipe, and it comes out nice and full. For those who have trouble with the crust browning too much or burning, just crimp a 2" strip of foil (you will need 3-4, depending on the size of pie you're baking. Join the strips end-to-end by folding thinly together to make one long strip) around the crust edges. Remove for the last 15 minutes of baking. Voila! Perfectly baked crusts every time. This filling recipe also works beautifully as a topping for cheesecakes, pound cakes, ice cream, etc. Provided you make a quality crust, this truly does produce the Best Cherry Pie you'll ever eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
this really is the best cherry pie! the name doesn't lie.. mm mm YUMMY! AAAAA++++!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Turned out great!!! It was so good that I had to make another. The edges were a little TOO dark for my taste though. On the second one I lowered the temp. to just 400. Other than that it was DELICIOUSE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coalinga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by littlewestwalker
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This was soo good! BUT, I had to add some things to make it so good. The recipe as it is, is a bit flavorless and a bit too sweet. The sweetness is just my opinion but to give it more flavor I added lots of cinnamon and freshly grounded nutmeg. Unfortunately, my pie wasn't that good because my crust failed but the filling: YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlewestwalker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Everyone in my family LOVED the pie (so much my mother actually stole the quarter I have left aside for my cousin). I did cut the sugar to 3/4 as suggested, and added a little bit of nutmeg, because I like spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States