Best Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I have made a version of this recipe for 54 years. I prefer the taste, texture and color of using corn startch rather than flour to thicken. I sweeten with white sugar to taste. Wonderful Pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladypeach

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This recipe is much like the one I use. I however use a quart of my own frozen cherries, 3 T. tapioca for thickening. After being frozen there is a lot of juice which I use since they are what came out of the fresh cherries and I cook the filling until the consistency I want. I then put on a lattice top crust. Cherry pie is my son's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Kenagy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worthington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I saw CookinBug's photo, and I just had to try it for our 4th of July party! The stars were very festive (I can't wait for Christmas to roll around-- bells and trees!) The pie itself was pretty good. I'm not a huge fan of cherry pie, and I was concerned about people suggesting I use less sugar, but I stuck with the recommended amount, and next time I will use MORE. I used 28 ounces of cherries because I imagine 20 oz would be too few! Perhaps it's my stove/cookware, but I only simmered for about 2 minutes before the glaze was ready. My only complaint was that the crust was a little soft, and I cooked it for 45 minutes. However, the pie nearly evaporated, and I got nothing but compliments, so this one is certainly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal River, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This was a very good recipe to use our fresh cherries with from our one tree. We were able to get them this year before the birds. A great pie to celebrate the 4th of July with! I did add about a fourth of a cup more sugar and it was just the right amount of sweetness and tartness. Wonderful with a scoop of vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Viroqua, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This is the method used by my grandmother and mother, two master bakers who lived in the heart of fruit orchard country in West Virginia. Nearly everything I know about baking I learned from them. Last week I went to the orchard to buy some fresh sour cherries to make this pie. It was the best as usual. Fresh cherries are not as readily available as the canned cherries. If you have the chance to get them, tryit. The only difference I made in the recipe was to heat the fresh pitted cherries (4 cupe) on the stove to bring the juices alive. I then added slowly while stirring constantly the sugar, salt and flour which I had blended together. I proceeded as directed in the remainder of the recipe. It was great. I got enough cherrie to freeze for later pies. Sometimes I use corn starch instead of flour as it make a more translucent filling. I also used almond extract, but sometimes use cinnamon or lemon juice. They all create good pie. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakerton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Olney, Maryland, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Very nice! Made this for my FIL and he loved it. I did use 2 cans of cherries, as one didn't seem like enough. The only other thing I changed was to cut out pieces of pastry for the top crust instead of latticing it. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I've made this pie several times and it has always turned out really good! I don't think the food coloring is necessary, and as previous commenters have noted, the only change I make is that it should be an egg white, not an egg yolk. Be sure to let it sit for a while before cutting it, otherwise, the filling will run all over the place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Great recipe, due to where i live I couldn't find fresh or frozen sour cherries, but did find some dark sweet cherries and the pie turned out really good, my husband was in heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amber2001
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I made this recipe as is and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
So easy to make and my husband loved it! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie V

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States