Best Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Very good recipe! Follow the other comments about using less sugar. Also I suggest using egg whites instead of egg yolks; it just looked to dark on top. As well just make sure you keep an eye on your temperature and your mixture in the saucepan, depending on the stove top it can cook very quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
My mother requested "old fashioned cherry pie" for her birthday and this pie was terrific! I followed the advice of others and used corn starch instead of flour, ditched the food coloring, used 2 14 oz. cans of cherries, added cinnamon and nutmeg, and since I could only find tart, not sour cherries, I decreased the sugar to 3/4 cup. I used Pillsbury pie crusts and cut the top crust with a pizza cutter, then latticed it, brushed with egg white, and baked at 425 for 15 minutes, then 325 for the rest of the time. It was gone before the day was out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Even those who didn't care much for cherry pie loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Just "YUM"... this has got to be one of the 'cherry-est' pies i have ever made; the flavor was astounding! A 'MUST' for any cherry aficianado...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
i realized as i was heating the reserved cherry liquid that i was 2/3 of a cup short on sugar! i had already planned to substitute cornstarch for the flour, so i grabbed my powdered sugar and added 1/2 C. to the 1/3 C. granulated sugar already in the liquid. i then added 5 teaspoons of cornstarch for good measure. it thickened beautifully and was the perfect sweetness! i used pillsbury piecrusts and didn't make lattice. i cut out a Christmas tree-shaped hole in the middle to allow steam to escape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Excellent recipe, will definately use again. I did however, use my own crust recipe, as it is fail-proof and I did use cornstarch instead of flour for thickening. I omitted the red food coloring, increased the sugar to 1 3/4 cups (as I used sour pie cherries), and added 1/2 tsp. almond extract. The filling was thick and didn't ooze out when pie was cut. I will most likely try this method for my other berry pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Delicious! No need for the red food coloring. Definitely will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cali, Valle Del Cauca, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I used 2-10oz cans tart cherries & added 1/4 tsp. cinnamon. Next time I will cut down the sugar to 3/4 cup or less, but this was such a fabulous pie!! Can't wait for an occasion to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This cherry pie is totally awesome...the only thing was I couldn't find a 20 oz. can of pitted sour cherries...so I used 2 (14 oz. ) cans of cherries and didn't adjust the recipe it turned out phenominal....will make again definately!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Made this pie for Thanksgiving. I didn't change a thing. It was awesome and had great reviews by my family. My father (71 yrs old) said it reminded him of the pie his mom made when he was little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States