Best Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Excellent recipe, will definately use again. I did however, use my own crust recipe, as it is fail-proof and I did use cornstarch instead of flour for thickening. I omitted the red food coloring, increased the sugar to 1 3/4 cups (as I used sour pie cherries), and added 1/2 tsp. almond extract. The filling was thick and didn't ooze out when pie was cut. I will most likely try this method for my other berry pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Delicious! No need for the red food coloring. Definitely will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cali, Valle Del Cauca, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I used 2-10oz cans tart cherries & added 1/4 tsp. cinnamon. Next time I will cut down the sugar to 3/4 cup or less, but this was such a fabulous pie!! Can't wait for an occasion to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This cherry pie is totally awesome...the only thing was I couldn't find a 20 oz. can of pitted sour cherries...so I used 2 (14 oz. ) cans of cherries and didn't adjust the recipe it turned out phenominal....will make again definately!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Made this pie for Thanksgiving. I didn't change a thing. It was awesome and had great reviews by my family. My father (71 yrs old) said it reminded him of the pie his mom made when he was little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This is the same recipe my mother used all through my childhood minus the red food coloring. Dad would call her from work to make one and he would pick up the vanilla ice cream on the way home. Since he worked nights they would share it together then we got to have it for breakfast the next day. Wonderful memories. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakotaturtle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I have made a version of this recipe for 54 years. I prefer the taste, texture and color of using corn startch rather than flour to thicken. I sweeten with white sugar to taste. Wonderful Pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladypeach

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This recipe is much like the one I use. I however use a quart of my own frozen cherries, 3 T. tapioca for thickening. After being frozen there is a lot of juice which I use since they are what came out of the fresh cherries and I cook the filling until the consistency I want. I then put on a lattice top crust. Cherry pie is my son's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Kenagy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worthington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I saw CookinBug's photo, and I just had to try it for our 4th of July party! The stars were very festive (I can't wait for Christmas to roll around-- bells and trees!) The pie itself was pretty good. I'm not a huge fan of cherry pie, and I was concerned about people suggesting I use less sugar, but I stuck with the recommended amount, and next time I will use MORE. I used 28 ounces of cherries because I imagine 20 oz would be too few! Perhaps it's my stove/cookware, but I only simmered for about 2 minutes before the glaze was ready. My only complaint was that the crust was a little soft, and I cooked it for 45 minutes. However, the pie nearly evaporated, and I got nothing but compliments, so this one is certainly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal River, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This was a very good recipe to use our fresh cherries with from our one tree. We were able to get them this year before the birds. A great pie to celebrate the 4th of July with! I did add about a fourth of a cup more sugar and it was just the right amount of sweetness and tartness. Wonderful with a scoop of vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Viroqua, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States