Best Cherry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I really wanted to love this recipe, but it just didn't amaze me. It tasted pretty much the same as canned pie filling. It was a decent pie, but I wouldn't go out of my way to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Good but not great. The consistency was very thick. It was very sweet, I would've preferred it to be more tart. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjhutch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This recipe is fantastic. I did use corn starch instead of flour; just personal preference. I had a deep dish pie plate so I used 2-20oz jars of sour cherries and it was the perfect amount. I have always taken the easy way out and used canned cherry pie filling... never again! This pie was EASY & absolutely DELISH and my brother whose fave pie is cherry raved and asked for the recipe. And my brother-in-law who rarely gives compliments about anything loved it too! THANK YOU for this super recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I have been searching for a cherry pie recipe that tastes like my husband's grandmother's pie! This is it! I didn't follow recipe exactly because I like more cherries so I adjusted the other ingredients to accomodate 4 C sour cherries. (1-1/2 C cherry juice, 1-1/2 C sugar, 2/3 c flour, 3T butter - no almond flavoring or food coloring) I baked it @ 425 for 55 minutes. The top & bottom crust was a golden brown. This is the only recipe I will use for cherry pie from now on. If you like the filling less thick, just decrease the flour by 1/6 C. Absolutely delicious! The flour & butter makes the difference in flavor from pies thickened with cornstarch or tapioca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Lake Wales, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it. The only problem was that the filling was somewhat runny, even though it was very thick when I put it in the crust to bake. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
one star for the crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I personally do not like cherries so when my dh asked me to make him a cherry pie I had no idea what the outcome would be. I followed this recipe word for word but without the food coloring. He devoured it!! I thought him and my daughter were going to battle it out for the last piece. Thank you for a simple yet fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
The taste of this pie was incredible - but the filling was slightly runny, and forget about using the egg yolk, it basically just made the crust look burnt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Loved this recipe as is with the exception I used two ten ounce cans of cherries since that is what I had - perhaps that helped with the ones who stated they had too much sugar. I made no adjustments to anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Awesome! The filling is perfect. I used 32 oz. of real cherries. I don't even like cherry pie but this one has made my top 10 list of desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellybakes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States