Best Cheesy Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2015
I sauteed the onions & garlic in butter then added bite size chicken thigh pieces & cooked through, put aside. Simmer/boil the vegetables in chicken stock, then puree half or all of it. Add the chicken bag in, the veggies, then the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by szaboa80

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
One of the things that I love about making soup is that a good basic soup recipe is very adaptable and forgiving, so you can make adjustments according to your tastes and what ingredients you have on hand. This is one of those recipes. It will work well even for beginning cooks, can be adapted as you wish, and is absolutely delicious. I started with this recipe as my guide but made some changes: I didn't have any celery, so that was left out. I added about 3/4 cup of frozen corn, some minced fresh rosemary, about a cup of diced lean turkey ham, and a generous amount of fresh ground pepper. I wanted to reduce the calories and fat, so I reduced the butter by a third, the cheese by one half, and I used almond milk (plain - don't use sweetened or flavored almond milk for this) instead of whole cow's milk. I'm sure the full amount of butter or cheese would make a really rich soup, but we did not miss it at all. Even with the lesser amounts of butter and cheese, this soup was delicious. With all of these changes, I ended up with about 10 cups of soup, a healthy 166 calories per cup, just under 10 grams of fat per cup, and very satisfying and filling. Pair with a salad and you'll have a wonderful healthy meal full of fiber and nutrients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathie Martinez Williams
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Loved it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I used 4c vegetable broth and pureed it (to get the veggies past my kids). It was plenty thick and didn't need the sauce. I kept the milk for creaminess and also added garlic, salt and pepper. Oh, I also used sweet potatoes. Great recipe that is very flexible and a MAJOR HIT with my kids! This is a new staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Wow, this soup has wonderful flavor! I used half pepper jack and half cheddar and added some pink Himalayan salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Simple and quite tasty. I had some cubes of cheese leftover from a party, so I substituted them for the shredded cheddar (mix of cheddar and pepper jack), and I had vegetable broth on hand so I used that in place of the bouillon and water. It seems like it would be so easy to adapt to other vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I used a grated sweet potato instead of white potato. I also used velveeta and 4oz cream cheese instead of cheddar. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Very flavorful. I used this recipe very loosely, but I think the creator had a lot of good ideas. It's an easily modified soup. I used twice as much broccoli, homemade frozen chicken stock, and leftover frozen mashed potatoes (cleaning out the freezer!). I added a few cloves of garlic and added some thyme and celery salt (since I didn't have celery on hand). I know it doesn't seem like followed the recipe but I did follow her directions for preparing the "broccoli stock", the roux, and when to add the cheese. Oh after I made the "broccoli stock" I blended it all up (helps if my daughter can't see individual veggies to pick out). It was very good and I'd make it again, but next time I'd use less cheese or maybe none and just sprinkle on individual bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Very flavorful, easy and stocked with vegetables. I didn't measure the vegetables, just eyeballed them, and used homemade chicken stock rather than the bouillon. I liked that this had milk rather than cream. Thanks, Janna for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by lickitysplitz
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Delicious! I also added cauliflower and bacon. I made the rue by sautéing the onion in bacon drippings. I omitted the potato and added extra cauliflower and broccoli. Will be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lickitysplitz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States