Best Cheesy Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This base recipe resulted in an absolutely delicious broccoli cheese soup. I really like two things about this recipe. First, it uses natural cheddar instead of processed cheese. Second, it used a variety of vegetables to add depth of flavour, not only broccoli, but potato, celery, onion and carrot. That said, I did do some things differently from the recipe. Of course, I added salt and pepper. I also added about a teaspoon of thyme (dried) and a large pinch of nutmeg. I cooked the vegetables for longer than 20 minutes to ensure they were tender, and also cooked the flour and butter roux for 1 to 2 minutes to ensure there was no floury taste to the soup. Served with crispy garlic toast for a lovely warming dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lisa
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This was very good! I used a chicken base in place of the bouillon so played w/the amount a bit. Added salt & pepper, to taste. I liked the addition of the potatoes & carrots w/the broccoli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Such a tasty recipe. I have made it 3 times. I know my husband likes it when he starts chopping vegetables for me. I stuck to the basic recipe without any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Wow, this soup has wonderful flavor! I used half pepper jack and half cheddar and added some pink Himalayan salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lickitysplitz
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Delicious! I also added cauliflower and bacon. I made the rue by sautéing the onion in bacon drippings. I omitted the potato and added extra cauliflower and broccoli. Will be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lickitysplitz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Very flavorful. I used this recipe very loosely, but I think the creator had a lot of good ideas. It's an easily modified soup. I used twice as much broccoli, homemade frozen chicken stock, and leftover frozen mashed potatoes (cleaning out the freezer!). I added a few cloves of garlic and added some thyme and celery salt (since I didn't have celery on hand). I know it doesn't seem like followed the recipe but I did follow her directions for preparing the "broccoli stock", the roux, and when to add the cheese. Oh after I made the "broccoli stock" I blended it all up (helps if my daughter can't see individual veggies to pick out). It was very good and I'd make it again, but next time I'd use less cheese or maybe none and just sprinkle on individual bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This was a great recipe and it's really easy to make. I did change a few things to make it better. I added cauliflower and bacon, it took it from great to wow! I also upped the amount of water to 3 quarts, the bouillon to 5 cubes, the cheese to 3 cups and the milk in the rue to a full cup. Don't forget the salt and pepper since its not seasoned at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I thought this was very good. I substituted chicken broth for the bouillon as I did not have the cubes and I prefer chicken broth and added water too. I pureed it a little bit as I like it a little smoother and thicker. Basically, all the components were there and it turned out great. Loved the idea of the carrots and potatoes. It just adds that much depth to the flavor and consistency. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathie Martinez Williams
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Loved it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I used 4c vegetable broth and pureed it (to get the veggies past my kids). It was plenty thick and didn't need the sauce. I kept the milk for creaminess and also added garlic, salt and pepper. Oh, I also used sweet potatoes. Great recipe that is very flexible and a MAJOR HIT with my kids! This is a new staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States