Best Cheesy Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Wow, this soup has wonderful flavor! I used half pepper jack and half cheddar and added some pink Himalayan salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Simple and quite tasty. I had some cubes of cheese leftover from a party, so I substituted them for the shredded cheddar (mix of cheddar and pepper jack), and I had vegetable broth on hand so I used that in place of the bouillon and water. It seems like it would be so easy to adapt to other vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I used a grated sweet potato instead of white potato. I also used velveeta and 4oz cream cheese instead of cheddar. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Very flavorful. I used this recipe very loosely, but I think the creator had a lot of good ideas. It's an easily modified soup. I used twice as much broccoli, homemade frozen chicken stock, and leftover frozen mashed potatoes (cleaning out the freezer!). I added a few cloves of garlic and added some thyme and celery salt (since I didn't have celery on hand). I know it doesn't seem like followed the recipe but I did follow her directions for preparing the "broccoli stock", the roux, and when to add the cheese. Oh after I made the "broccoli stock" I blended it all up (helps if my daughter can't see individual veggies to pick out). It was very good and I'd make it again, but next time I'd use less cheese or maybe none and just sprinkle on individual bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Very flavorful, easy and stocked with vegetables. I didn't measure the vegetables, just eyeballed them, and used homemade chicken stock rather than the bouillon. I liked that this had milk rather than cream. Thanks, Janna for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by lickitysplitz
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Delicious! I also added cauliflower and bacon. I made the rue by sautéing the onion in bacon drippings. I omitted the potato and added extra cauliflower and broccoli. Will be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lickitysplitz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This was a great recipe and it's really easy to make. I did change a few things to make it better. I added cauliflower and bacon, it took it from great to wow! I also upped the amount of water to 3 quarts, the bouillon to 5 cubes, the cheese to 3 cups and the milk in the rue to a full cup. Don't forget the salt and pepper since its not seasoned at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
We used chicken broth rather than the cube. Next time, I will add another 2 cups of broccoli because it really came out as a cream of veggie soup more than a cheesy broccoli soup. However, we did enjoy it and there will be a next time. Thanks Janna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I thought this was very good. I substituted chicken broth for the bouillon as I did not have the cubes and I prefer chicken broth and added water too. I pureed it a little bit as I like it a little smoother and thicker. Basically, all the components were there and it turned out great. Loved the idea of the carrots and potatoes. It just adds that much depth to the flavor and consistency. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Such a tasty recipe. I have made it 3 times. I know my husband likes it when he starts chopping vegetables for me. I stuck to the basic recipe without any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States