Best Carrot Cake Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
As a cookery teacher, how did this turn out soooooooooooooo bad? Moist is not a word I could use to describe it. Soggy, yes. Will never, ever make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mckee1987
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
Delicious had to bring it to work to keep myself from eating it. Everyone loved it. Just don't think about the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
HI..This is an AWESOME recipe...did i say awesome? i managed to make a small 6" and an 8" to be shared in office...the taste was perfect...not soo sweet and it is moist...i don't like the dried ones...even some bakery has it..it won't taste like this one... but this is superb!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
This really and truly is the best carrot cake I have ever eaten. It is delectably moist and has just the right amount of sweetness. It is very, very rich, however, and extremely dense. My husband made this cake for my birthday and, had we known how thick and dense it was, we'd have halved the recipe. Our family of four couldn't finish an entire cake ourselves! I'd definitely recommend this recipe to anyone but if you're making it for a small, home gathering, half the recipe. As is, this recipe would be great for a large potluck or family reunion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
I love this cake! I have made it several times for birthday's and holidays and it has always come out moist and delish! I did change a few changes.. For the oil I did half apple sauce and half melted coconut oil... and for the spices I added a dash more cinnamon, also about a teaspoon each of ginger, allspice, and nutmeg. I also did not add the raisins. And if you want to get really fancy I made maple covered walnuts! But all in all, best carrot cake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oh For The Love Of Baking!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denmark, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
i only made one tiny change to this (cut the vegetable oil in half and substituted apple sauce for the remainder). it was awesome... i was reluctant to present it to my father who loves carrot cake, but he raved about this version for weeks. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nom-nomstheword

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pearl
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
I have made this recipe many times now, and I always get smiles! I love this recipe, thanks for sharing it truly is the best carrot cake ever!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
The first time I tried this recipe was because my daughter had a about 10 pounds of carrots given to her and 15 pounds of bananas and didn't know what to do with it, so I looked at it and thought, carrot cake and banana bread! So I downloaded this recipe and of course being me changed up a few ingredients, like I used white raisens & craisins, I used walnuts and cashews, Vietnamese cinnamon, I added pure vanilla bean and it turned out great! All my friends love it. I actually made it later - the original recipe that is, it was very good and moist too, but I love my additions. I encourage you to play with the recipe - that's the fun in cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This is my first review, but I felt the need to defend Nan's recipe. I was a little afraid to try this after reading some of the negative reviews. I needed to make a Carrot Cake for a birthday at work (we pay the cake forward), and I was attracted to this recipe because it made a large cake. Everyone LOVED it. All I could hear were the ooohs and aaahs. It was moist, but not soggy, as some said. I had to use 9-inch pans, but it was not a problem. As at least one other person said, this is the carrot cake recipe I have been looking for. Thank you, Nan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I LOVE this carrot cake. It truly is one of the best I've ever had. The only thing I did different was soak the raisins in pineapple juice. I think it would have been the best I've ever had, had I taken the time to make frosting, rather than using canned. But I was feeling lazy after grating 6 cups of carrots!!! All that said, I will say, it IS a dense, heavy cake. But that's how carrot cake is supposed to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,085) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States