Best Carolina BBQ Meat Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Freakin Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnalynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sumter, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I was thinking about how to use up a pork should roast and thought "pulled pork sandwiches" sounded good, but it is not possible to find "real" Carolina BBQ sauce in California... Certain that AllRecipes would have something, I came across this recipe! Make me think of the very first pulled pork sandwich I ever had more than 50 years ago in Charlotte, NC. Since I share the house with a bunch of Yankees, I did leave out the cayenne. This is the real deal! Thanks, Tripper, great recipe!!! Unfortunately, there is absolutely no way this would ever last a couple of weeks in the 'frig...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lost Southern Boy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Bern, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Mine came out a little too runny. Great Carolina flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yelsi
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
A very good sauce. If I make it again I will reduce the amount of pepper slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Clovis, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This recipe is AMAZING. I didn't have any liquid smoke, and I took some other reviewers' advice and only added 3/4 cup yellow mustard.. Perfect!! I will absolutely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoupySunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlantic Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This is a fantastic sauce! I used it to season my pulled pork bbq. The only modification I made was to lessen the mustard by half (I used spicy brown mustard since that was all I had on hand), as some other reviewers suggested, and added a touch more vinegar and a pinch of red pepper flakes. It was a hit at our poker game and will from now on be my staple sauce for pulled pork. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
instead of brown sugar ,try 1 1/2 cupsof molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This is by far the best recipe I have found for a pulled pork sauce that tastes like a genuine South Carolina sauce. I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Great recipe! I agree with others who said to reduce the mustard a bit (I reduced about a third). I made a double batch and cooked it with a pork shoulder in the pressure cooker. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Im from Virginia, have been in Charleston SC. now for 13yrs. I fixed a boston butt over night in the crockpot and took to work for the guys. The sauce was a big hit everyone went back for more. Didn't have hot sauce so I used a peice of jalapino pepper "turned red" about a 1/2 inch ring cut cross wise. squeezed it in a garlic press to exstreact the oil. was wonderfull! Tip: squeeze droplets a little at a time to get the heat right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delvis
Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States