Best Carolina BBQ Meat Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
this is the best, perfect for pulled pork, not bad on the grill either. I can it with no problems -excellent christmas gift
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Norton Shores, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
Thanks for a very good sauce recipe. I love pulled pork on a bun with coleslaw. Now, I have never been to the Carolina's to try for myself, but I did enjoy this sauce. I was short on time and made it in my pressure cooker (it did not scorch on low pressure for 10min + 10min). After making the sauce, I added my pork sirloin roast, cut in large chunks and cooked on medium pressure for 60 min. The meat fell apart when I shredded it. I added some sauce to moisten and passed more at dinner. My only change was for my daughter who is not terribly fond of vinegary sauces. I added a bit of ketchup (1/4c.)to cut the tang a bit. Next time I will try without and add the full amount + a bit of the chili powder and tabasco. Gonna go eat some leftovers now! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
I substituted some of the brown sugar for honey and I also added onions and garlic that I removed after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONKEYJADE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
Great flavor best on pork. I like to add a bottle of tomato barbque sauce to zip up the flavor. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYOFZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dothan, Alabama, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
Had a good flavor although I didn't add any hot sauce it was plenty hot! Also if you blend regular BBQ (famous dave's zesty sauce) it gives it a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2004
I used the BBQ Pork for Sandwiches recipe to cook my pork loin roast, then I drained the broth and added this sauce. Yumm-my! The vinegar fumes made our eyes water and our noses run, but that didn't stop us from inhaling our sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
My family didn't like this at all. Is this one of those recipes that one has to acquire a taste for it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
Well it's Superbowl Sunday again and I'm back for the best recipe I've ever found on this site!!! I use this sauce on pulled pork sandwiches in my bar every year for the big game and I have patrons reserving tables months in advance. Thanks Andy, this is the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PORTLYCOOK

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Ely, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
This was excellent. I browned 5 lbs. of boneless chops, slathered them with this sauce and cooked them on low in the crock pot with about 3/4 cup of sauce. When they were falling apart I added the balance of the sauce (only made 2 cups of sauce) and shredded the meat. We had sandwiches the next day and my Carolina-raised husband said it was the best barbeque sandwich he'd ever eaten. I steamed the buns and topped the BBQ with a little extra hot sauce and regular slaw (as opposed to BBQ slaw) Yummy - better than 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2003
All I have to say is WOW. Made this for my daughters b-day party for family only and they all raved. I cooked my bbq in the sauce as well as put it out for others to pile on. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States