Best Carolina BBQ Meat Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 5, 2006
We marinated boneless chicken breast for about an hour before grilling. The chicken had great flavor and was very juicy. I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liam's Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dorchester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Greeneville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
This sauce was very good, if you like mustard. My husband loved it, but he loves mustard. I added 1/2 cup ketchup to it to help tone it down a bit for my taste. It helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willis, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
My husband and I prefer red sauce -- that said, we tried this and it was FANTASTIC! It's easily the best mustard sauce I've ever tried. Might even make a convert out of me....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
i cut the mustard down to 3/4 cup and added 1/4 cup honey to take off the edge of what i knew would be a tangy sauce. cooked boneless, skinless chicken breasts in the crock pot with the sauce, and my husband loved it! we recently moved to north carolina, and this sauce stands up to what we've had in the highest-recommended diners here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Great injector marinade for fried turkey. Be liberal with the hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I served this with a slow cooked pork roast on sourdough buns and my "never been to Carolina" group of friends here in California loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
I am used to tomato based BBQ sauces so this was a nice change. I still prefer tomato based BBQ sauce but am glad I tried this. We had it with the brisket my hubby smoked tonight. This will be a keeper for when I am in the mood for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
This sauce is the best mustard based sauce I have ever had. My family uses it on just about every kind of meat in place of ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
this is the best, perfect for pulled pork, not bad on the grill either. I can it with no problems -excellent christmas gift
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Norton Shores, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
Thanks for a very good sauce recipe. I love pulled pork on a bun with coleslaw. Now, I have never been to the Carolina's to try for myself, but I did enjoy this sauce. I was short on time and made it in my pressure cooker (it did not scorch on low pressure for 10min + 10min). After making the sauce, I added my pork sirloin roast, cut in large chunks and cooked on medium pressure for 60 min. The meat fell apart when I shredded it. I added some sauce to moisten and passed more at dinner. My only change was for my daughter who is not terribly fond of vinegary sauces. I added a bit of ketchup (1/4c.)to cut the tang a bit. Next time I will try without and add the full amount + a bit of the chili powder and tabasco. Gonna go eat some leftovers now! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States