Best Carolina BBQ Meat Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I made as written with only one change. Due to an allergy to beer I substituted it with Ginger Ale. This is excellent. I BBQ all the time. A nice change from the red sauces. I have tried it on chili dogs, pulled pork, smoked ribs, ham. Only had it about 2 weeks so far. I know don't rate it if you change it but I had to. I also had to compliment the recipe. Thanks, I will use for this recipe for many years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
AWESOME!!! I made this last night for a big BBQ potluck we were having here today. I like mustard based sauces myself, so I wanted to give this a whirl. Great flavor, great kick. I might add just a hair more sweetness to it next time (like add honey). But, otherwise, it was awesome!! One other tweak I did… I didn't have the Louisiana Hot Sauce. I did have the Red Rooster sriracha sauce, and I used that instead. Figured it wouldn't make a whole lot of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Finger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I have made this sauce several times and it is always amazing! This time I did not have any beer and didn't want to run to the store just for that so I substituted it with chicken broth and it was just as good. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I made this tonight, and followed the recipe to the letter. It made a wonderful sauce, and I filled two pint jars with the finished product. I always enjoy reading people's reviews, and noticed that the "bad" reviews found it to be a matter of this not being their kind of barbeque. I get that; however, for those that love Carolina-style (my father was born and raised in Charleston), it's really a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Great sauce. Made minor adjustments for my own taste by adding 1/8 c. more of ACV, 1/2 t. more of cayenne, 1/2 c. more of honey, 2 T. onion powder & 1 T. finely chopped garlic. Used thick Worcestershire sauce instead. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PoundCakePimp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I love mustard based BBQ sauces and this one was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Yum! I'll admit...born and raised in Washington and never had a mustard based BBQ sauce until I went to a chain BBQ place that just opened up that had a version of this in their BBQ sauce choices. I was hooked then and decided to find a recipe for one that I can make my own of what one dish cost there. This sauce was a hit for the whole family and I keep a bottle in the refridgerator now for reserve. Thanks, Tripper, for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I often make pulled pork for my family, using a sweet/tangy red sauce. But I found this recipe for the mustard based sauce....i WAS NOT dissapointed! It was great. And I took the advice of some others and cut down the mustard amount, and the pepper amount. Was VERY delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I always thought I leaned more toward the red bbq sauce camp... that is until tasting this. Must love mustard, though, to appreciate this sauce -- half of my crew really dug it, the other half notsomuch. I served this alongside "Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker" (recipe by Kikuchan). Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mellie18_99
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This recipe was a little to Mustardy for myself but my husband LOVED it. If it were up to him he would've given it 5 stars. I love the vinegar in it, so next time i will cut down the mustard by half and actually add more vinegar. After the sauce was completed I went ahead and added my own personal touches but stayed true to the Carolina way and did not add any red sauce to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States