Best Carolina BBQ Meat Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Great recipe! I agree with others who said to reduce the mustard a bit (I reduced about a third). I made a double batch and cooked it with a pork shoulder in the pressure cooker. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
Im from Virginia, have been in Charleston SC. now for 13yrs. I fixed a boston butt over night in the crockpot and took to work for the guys. The sauce was a big hit everyone went back for more. Didn't have hot sauce so I used a peice of jalapino pepper "turned red" about a 1/2 inch ring cut cross wise. squeezed it in a garlic press to exstreact the oil. was wonderfull! Tip: squeeze droplets a little at a time to get the heat right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delvis
Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I made as written with only one change. Due to an allergy to beer I substituted it with Ginger Ale. This is excellent. I BBQ all the time. A nice change from the red sauces. I have tried it on chili dogs, pulled pork, smoked ribs, ham. Only had it about 2 weeks so far. I know don't rate it if you change it but I had to. I also had to compliment the recipe. Thanks, I will use for this recipe for many years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
AWESOME!!! I made this last night for a big BBQ potluck we were having here today. I like mustard based sauces myself, so I wanted to give this a whirl. Great flavor, great kick. I might add just a hair more sweetness to it next time (like add honey). But, otherwise, it was awesome!! One other tweak I did… I didn't have the Louisiana Hot Sauce. I did have the Red Rooster sriracha sauce, and I used that instead. Figured it wouldn't make a whole lot of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Finger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I have made this sauce several times and it is always amazing! This time I did not have any beer and didn't want to run to the store just for that so I substituted it with chicken broth and it was just as good. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I made this tonight, and followed the recipe to the letter. It made a wonderful sauce, and I filled two pint jars with the finished product. I always enjoy reading people's reviews, and noticed that the "bad" reviews found it to be a matter of this not being their kind of barbeque. I get that; however, for those that love Carolina-style (my father was born and raised in Charleston), it's really a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Great sauce. Made minor adjustments for my own taste by adding 1/8 c. more of ACV, 1/2 t. more of cayenne, 1/2 c. more of honey, 2 T. onion powder & 1 T. finely chopped garlic. Used thick Worcestershire sauce instead. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PoundCakePimp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I love mustard based BBQ sauces and this one was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Yum! I'll admit...born and raised in Washington and never had a mustard based BBQ sauce until I went to a chain BBQ place that just opened up that had a version of this in their BBQ sauce choices. I was hooked then and decided to find a recipe for one that I can make my own of what one dish cost there. This sauce was a hit for the whole family and I keep a bottle in the refridgerator now for reserve. Thanks, Tripper, for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I often make pulled pork for my family, using a sweet/tangy red sauce. But I found this recipe for the mustard based sauce....i WAS NOT dissapointed! It was great. And I took the advice of some others and cut down the mustard amount, and the pepper amount. Was VERY delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States