Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
We really liked this recipe, but next time we will use a cup less chicken stock and more squash. Also, we might cut back on the cumin. Otherwise, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pecatonica, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
GREAT soup! I took some of the reviews advice and changed a few things: Pretty much quadrupled the quantity, i added 2 peeled apples when i simmered the squash, then when i was blending it i added 2 cups heavy cream. it was seasoned perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INJUNCHEF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomfret, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
WOW!!! I just made this soup and it is amazing! It was simple to make and tastes delicious. I added an apple for a little extra sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Oh my gosh! This was so good. I used only 2 cups of chicken stock and 1 cup of cream added before I pureed ingredients. And I used the whole squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
The flavor was wonderful although I added a pinch of nutmeg too. Would like it a little thicker so, add less broth? Add a whole squash? Add a little cream? I'll play arond with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
My family loved this soup. Very easy to make, will definately make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
So delicious! I used an entire 5 lb butternut squash, tripled the fresh thyme and garlic, and added a leek, but kept the stock at 4 cups. While I was pureeing i added about a cup of whole milk. Upon tasting I added some garlic salt. This soup is so good. It thickens a bit while it cools. Thank you for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Loved this recipe - made it exactly as written but doubled it. I used a little less stock and added more as I pureed it if needed. I will definitely make this again. Easy, delicious and healthy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I loved this soup for a dreary fall evening. Even my two and three year olds loved it! I did add a bit of heavy cream for an extra rich flavor, but otherwise I followed the recipe. It's super easy to make and it makes a really yummy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mantoothmama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I loved it just the way it said... I added more thyme, but it didn't need it. Perfect for getting into the fall spirit. Hubby even liked it! Warning to the beginner, be prepared that the squash is tough to cut... but way worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States