Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Soo delicious! I used the whole butternut squash and roasted it on a baking sheet on broil for 5 min or so to bring out the flavor after cubing it. I also have lemon thyme plants in my yard so I used that instead of regular thyme otherwise I followed the recipe in order with the same sesonings. Perfect for the first snow in the mountains. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Airisaiia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
So delicious! I used an entire 5 lb butternut squash, tripled the fresh thyme and garlic, and added a leek, but kept the stock at 4 cups. While I was pureeing i added about a cup of whole milk. Upon tasting I added some garlic salt. This soup is so good. It thickens a bit while it cools. Thank you for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
WOW!!! I just made this soup and it is amazing! It was simple to make and tastes delicious. I added an apple for a little extra sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I roasted the squash with garlic and broth before making the soup. It adds a richness the boiling can't touch. Other than that I made as directed. Five moms asked for the recipe. Great and easy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
We really liked this recipe, but next time we will use a cup less chicken stock and more squash. Also, we might cut back on the cumin. Otherwise, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pecatonica, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
GREAT soup! I took some of the reviews advice and changed a few things: Pretty much quadrupled the quantity, i added 2 peeled apples when i simmered the squash, then when i was blending it i added 2 cups heavy cream. it was seasoned perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INJUNCHEF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomfret, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
OMG....Divine! Thick,rich flavor. I added 1 cup of heavy cream to enhance the flavor. WOWWWWW! Tastes like something fancy served at the Ritz Carlton(or any 5 star restaurant) Bon Appetit:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
an easy 5 STARS i used a whole squash cut in half seasoned and roasted. i also added a little cayenne pepper to spice it up a bit and about a cup of 10% cream. I didn't have thyme but I wish i had i think that if its even possible it may have made it better. I also topped each bowl of the soup with a dollop of sour cream. Thanx for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Oh my gosh! This was so good. I used only 2 cups of chicken stock and 1 cup of cream added before I pureed ingredients. And I used the whole squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Wow, this really is delicious...I truly am surprised how good it is! I bought a halved butternut squash at the grocery store, not even knowing what to do with it when I got it home. Searched this website & thought based on the other reviews, that this recipe must be pretty good. I too, roasted the squash, onion & garlic together. Such a great sweet taste! I did get impatient while roasting & took the squash out a little too early. It didn't puree as smooth as I would have liked. Used slightly less stock...I had really good turkey stock that was leftover from Xmas dinner; So I didn't even bother w/ the bouillon. I did add some evaporated milk for creaminess & a touch of cream cheese just out of curiosity. Omitted the allspice, but did add a pinch of curry instead. This is such a versatile recipe, you really can add what you like & make it your own. I definitely will make again. I'm even considering adding some butternut squash to my garden next year :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States