Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Great recipe. I had an extra turnip and threw that in. The turnip really added a nice kick to the flavor especially since I made it without butter or chicken boullon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Very good. I used a bit less chicken stock bc I used less squash, but this is so easy and definitely worth the time. I think I went a bit over board with the thyme, but it still tasted good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This soup seemed a little thin to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peggytate

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I've gotten rave reviews on this soup -- I double the spices (using the equivalent of 1 cube of boullion - chicken or vegetable) 1/2 tsp group cumin and 1/2 tsp ground allspice. It is also good made with beef broth - somewhat darker flavor. The fresh thyme is a must ! But aside from preparing the squash (which takes a LONG time) this is a quick, easy, and wonderful-tasting soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
As written I felt the soup was missing something, but with some tender loving care I was able to bring it up to par...that was weeks ago already, however, so I can't remember what I did to "fix" it! It was definitely improved the following day, and I froze a small portion to use as a base for risotto in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Pretty good, be careful not to add too much pepper though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Yum! This soup came out great. It's a simple recipe with a lot of flavor. I added a little bit of cinnamon, and the combination of spices was perfect. I also, like other reviewers have said, roasted the butternut squash first to bring out the flavor, and stirred in some half-and-half after it was blended. The finished product was fantastic! I shared the leftover soup with some friends, and it got rave reviews :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Excellent! This was the first time I ever made butternut squash soup, and it was simple and delicious! I skipped a few ingredients like the onion and allspice (substituting ginger and a bit of cinnamon) because I did not have them at the moment, but the soup still came out perfectly. Thanks for sharing! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by invierno_eterno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This recipe is so easy and delicious! My squash was roasted and I used a bit if curry powder as I don't like cumin or allspice...both hubby and I LOVED it. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
It really is the Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States