Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I liked this, but only after I added extra cummin to the recipe. John did not like it at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cushing, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Iola, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Very good. I also roasted the potato and squash before it all went into the pot with onions and garlic. Used veggie broth since I had no chicken broth on hand so I left out the bouillon. Next time will use chicken broth. Used a dash of cayenne pepper because I always spice my soup with cayenne. Good comfort food and will keep for the regular rotation of soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilac0832

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marblehead, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I made this soup for my boyfriend and his parents and it was a HUGE hit! Super easy to make and sooo good! The few changes I made were the following: roasted my squash in the oven until it got a nice golden brown caramelization color (if your squash is not the best quality or may not be the sweetest, roasting it will deepen the flavor and bring out the natural sweetness of the squash) . Didn't have allspice or chicken bouillon so I just left it out. Used my own homemade chicken stock. Added 3 small sweet potatoes (orange - not white ones) that I had hanging around. While blending it, I added a little half and half (milk would be good too - just didn't have any on hand at the time) to make it a little creamier. The end result was a better soup than the one my sister makes - which is pretty awesome too. This is DEFINITELY a keeper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
If I could give it more stars I would! Thanks Chester! It will become a regular. Tim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Ridgeway, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This is fantastic! I doubled the recipe but thought it was too watery so I let it boil down a bit. I also cooked the squash in the microwave like you would a potato (stabbed it 15-20 times). It was much easier than cutting a hard raw squash! Hope you enjoy...I certainly did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
awesome recipe! I found that when I added 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg it took the soup to a whole new level and perfectly balanced the flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Delicious and easy to make! I bought the squash already cut, which added to the ease of the recipe. I left out the bouillon as I didn't have any in the house. I added 1/2 an apple when I added the butternut squash and a little half and half at the end to make it creamier. Great soup! I will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Awesome! I roasted my garlic and the squash in the oven the night before. made things very easy and faster the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I added ginger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I just made this soup for thanksgiving and everyone loved it and wanted the recipe! The only change i made was that i roasted the squash first and then added it to the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States