Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
LOVE IT. I just love how fast this dish is. I grabbed a big clamshell of pre-cut squash from CostCo yesterday, used Chicken "Better than Boullion" in my fridge, and followed the recipe pretty closely. My tweaks were just because of what I had on had. Added a leek, did 3 pinches of cumin. SO YUMMY and a huge pot for around $6. Yay for freezing leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Delicious! Even hours later, the taste lingers & you wish you could have more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Great dish, we made a few changes. I roasted the squash before boiling it. I used vegetarian broth and boullion, used the entire squash, added a pinch of cayenne, and 1/4 tsp of cinnamon. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This was a great recipe!! I had a leftover 1/2 large roasted butternut squash and used potatoes and carrots leftover from a roast I had cooked in the crock pot. I read reviews and took the tip to add half the amount of chicken stalk and milk for the rest. I boiled onion and celerly on stovetop with a bit of butter, the chicken stalk, bouillon and tyme. Great and EASY recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This is the first time I have ever made butternut squash soup and it turned out excellent! I love how savory and sweet this recipe is, even my mother-in-law loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvz2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This really is the best butternut squash soup EVER. I never have thyme on hand, so I switched it out for a jalapeno, which I sauteed with the onions and garlic. I also doubled everything except the stock, which produced a great, thick consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Really simple to make and yummy to eat. I was a bit leery about allspice and cumin but it was great. I took a shortcut and used cubed butternut squash from Costco - I find cutting squash to be extremely hazardous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Just made this soup, as one review mentioned I would use more squash next time, as we all know squash vary in dryness, mine was wet so the soup was too watery. Drier squash would make a drier soup. Flavor was great, the recipe simplistic for me that's what great cooking is all about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Very easy and very tasty. I cut the squash in chunks, tossed in 2 tbsp oil, salt and pepper (to taste) then roasted it for 15 minutes at 400 degrees. I cooked the garlic and oinion in butter and oil. I added the squash and stock and brought it to a boil, reduced the heat and cooked for about 20 minutes. I did not use the bouillon. I used an immersion blender to puree the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Wow, this really is delicious...I truly am surprised how good it is! I bought a halved butternut squash at the grocery store, not even knowing what to do with it when I got it home. Searched this website & thought based on the other reviews, that this recipe must be pretty good. I too, roasted the squash, onion & garlic together. Such a great sweet taste! I did get impatient while roasting & took the squash out a little too early. It didn't puree as smooth as I would have liked. Used slightly less stock...I had really good turkey stock that was leftover from Xmas dinner; So I didn't even bother w/ the bouillon. I did add some evaporated milk for creaminess & a touch of cream cheese just out of curiosity. Omitted the allspice, but did add a pinch of curry instead. This is such a versatile recipe, you really can add what you like & make it your own. I definitely will make again. I'm even considering adding some butternut squash to my garden next year :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States