Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Doubled the butternut squash, added curry and finished with light coconut milk. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
WOW! The title doesn't lie - this soup is wonderful! Hubby and I both had 3 bowls. I tried one bowl with some sour cream, and it was amazing! I also added a pinch of cinnamon to the pot at the suggestion of one of the reviews. Hubby said he wasn't sure about the cinnamon, so he added a little more salt to his servings. It was SO satisfying, no matter how we doctored it with each serving, or even if we didn't. Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This was delicious. I love blending soups to make them creamy. This one had the right richness and sweetness mixture to it that it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Tried this soup. . .and it is a definite Winner! However I put my own lil spin on it. I used some Canadian back bacon, chopped it into small pieces, and cooked the onion, garlic, (I added a shallot) , and curry powder in the pan. . .once that was done I followed the recipe pretty much as it was, However, I added some green herbs to the soup as well as subs. the allspice with nutmeg. :-) Try it, ya won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJ Crocker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Port Hope Simpson, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
LOVE IT. I just love how fast this dish is. I grabbed a big clamshell of pre-cut squash from CostCo yesterday, used Chicken "Better than Boullion" in my fridge, and followed the recipe pretty closely. My tweaks were just because of what I had on had. Added a leek, did 3 pinches of cumin. SO YUMMY and a huge pot for around $6. Yay for freezing leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Delicious! Even hours later, the taste lingers & you wish you could have more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Great dish, we made a few changes. I roasted the squash before boiling it. I used vegetarian broth and boullion, used the entire squash, added a pinch of cayenne, and 1/4 tsp of cinnamon. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This was a great recipe!! I had a leftover 1/2 large roasted butternut squash and used potatoes and carrots leftover from a roast I had cooked in the crock pot. I read reviews and took the tip to add half the amount of chicken stalk and milk for the rest. I boiled onion and celerly on stovetop with a bit of butter, the chicken stalk, bouillon and tyme. Great and EASY recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This is the first time I have ever made butternut squash soup and it turned out excellent! I love how savory and sweet this recipe is, even my mother-in-law loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvz2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This really is the best butternut squash soup EVER. I never have thyme on hand, so I switched it out for a jalapeno, which I sauteed with the onions and garlic. I also doubled everything except the stock, which produced a great, thick consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States