Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
OMG! I've never even eaten butternut squash and decided to try this with 1/2 a squash and the other half roasted with potatoes as a side for dinner....AMAZING! I kind of winged it a bit as far as proportions and wish I made more. I added a bay leaf while I simmered the final product and a dash of cayenne and the sweet and spicy was perfect for us. Thank you so much for turning me on to this flavorful squash:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janasue1459

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
quick, easy, and deliciou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Very good soup! The first time I made it per the recipe with the exception of the cumin (I just don't like cumin) and it was a hit. Since then, I have been adding a pinch of crushed red pepper flakes and about an eighth of a cup of diced celery to the pan while cooking the onion and it's incredibly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Really liked it! My tweaks were simply because I used what I had on hand... did not use a bullion cube, only used 2.5-ish cups of chicken stock, added couple of shakes of kosher salt, and simmered for 30-40 minutes. Then added the spices ( more allspice, less cumin,and a tad of ground peper and 2 shakes kosher salt) and then added 1/2 -ish cup of heavy cream. Removed from heat and used my new Cuisinart hand blender.. and voila! Absolutely perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Fabulous soup! WIshed I had at least doubled it! Used dried Thyme (about 2 tsp), a dash of roasted coriander and at least 1 tsp of cumin. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I've tried several different recipes, this is by far the best! It does have the deep flavor, but not overly rich like some I've made. Like everyone else, I tweaked it a little: roasted the squash, added 1/2 apple, some cayenne for kick, and 1/2 cup sour cream at the puree stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Delicious! The only thing I changed was to double the recipe and add 1/4 cream. Next time I'll roast the squash instead of boiling it and I'll use 1/2 the recommended chicken stock b/c I like a thicker soup. Great starter recipe. There are endless yummy ways to tweak this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
My man and I loved this soup! We're on a diet and this was a nice variety to add! We used half an onion, a whole butternut squash from Whole Foods, 4 cups of chicken broth (it was on sale), and the spices I added instead were: vegetable bouillion cube (instead of chicken), hot madras curry, cumin, salt and pepper, cinnamon, vanilla soymilk and some brown sugar. I like a mixture of sweet and savory flavors in my butternut squash soup and it turned out great! Will use 3 and a half cups of chicken broth next time, though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Doubled the recipe. This soup is thin. Not thick, which is fine for me but if you are expecting a rich thick soup keep looking for another version. I chose this for the low calorie count. It's very tasty. Not too sweet which is great!! I made this to pop individual servings into freezer for fast lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Following the advice of another cook, I roasted the butternut squash in the oven for about an hour at 400 and just poked holes in it. After it was roasted, I sliced it in half lengthwise, removed the seeds and cubed the squash. I let it cool and refrigerated it. The next day, I used my already cooked and cubed squash in the recipe and followed the recipe using homemade chicken stock rather than canned broth. This recipe was just right for a nice healthy soup that is filling and tasty!!! Thanks for sharing! I did use the whole butternut squash as I like my soup a little thicker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHSOSH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States