Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I've made this soup abt 10 times each winter, for 2 winters in a row! I always double the squash & add abt 1/2 cup more broth. I always roast my squash in the oven, drizzled w extra virgen olive oil & minced garlic. I add abt 1/2 cup of heavy cream at the end as well. It's so good, I have my mother in law leaving me cut up squash in my fridge as a hint!! I will always use this recipe!! Thanks a bunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This recipe is a good base. I doubled the amount of squash and added chili powder, cayenne pepper and Tony Chachere's seasoning. I was trying to replicate a "spicy squash soup" I had at a restaurant and I would say...mission accomplished!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I love this recipe and make it every year at Thanksgiving. My husband thinks it needs cream, which I am not a fan of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I made this for my family tonight and my son was giving me a hard time about not cooking the squash like I usually do with the brown sugar and marshmallows lol. But after everyone tried it they asked for seconds. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This is really good and so easy! I use vegetable broth and dried thyme. I also purchased a package of pre-cut butternut squash from Costco. That makes it even easier! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Amazing! I also roasted the squash and onion. Used 1 can of chicken broth (didn't have stock) and 1C unsweetened coconut milk. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
First time making soup and this was so easy & delicious. Things I added- one apple sliced & peeled, pumpkin spice & red pepper flakes. Whole thing was done in 25 minutes with 4 tupperwares ready for work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This was incredible! My ANTI-squash teen boys devoured it and said "THIS IS GOOD MOM!" I added 1 cup of chardonnay with the chicken broth. I halved four squash and baked them in the oven face in two 9 x 13 glass dishes first, then scooped the flesh out into my delightful seasoned onions and garlic mixture sizzling in butter. I didn't have thyme so I used a little rosemary and sage. I also did not have allspice so used nutmeg. Thank you for this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Loved this recipe! I used about 3/4 of a whole butternut squash instead of 1/2. I added 1/2 a Granny Smith apple when I added the squash to boil. Also added whole milk when I was blending it. Very good! I served with a fresh fall salad with craisins, 1 Granny Smith apple cut up, slivered honey almonds, & feta cheese with a poppyseed dressing. It complimented the soup very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
OMG! I've never even eaten butternut squash and decided to try this with 1/2 a squash and the other half roasted with potatoes as a side for dinner....AMAZING! I kind of winged it a bit as far as proportions and wish I made more. I added a bay leaf while I simmered the final product and a dash of cayenne and the sweet and spicy was perfect for us. Thank you so much for turning me on to this flavorful squash:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janasue1459

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States