Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I made this for my family tonight and my son was giving me a hard time about not cooking the squash like I usually do with the brown sugar and marshmallows lol. But after everyone tried it they asked for seconds. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This is really good and so easy! I use vegetable broth and dried thyme. I also purchased a package of pre-cut butternut squash from Costco. That makes it even easier! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Amazing! I also roasted the squash and onion. Used 1 can of chicken broth (didn't have stock) and 1C unsweetened coconut milk. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
First time making soup and this was so easy & delicious. Things I added- one apple sliced & peeled, pumpkin spice & red pepper flakes. Whole thing was done in 25 minutes with 4 tupperwares ready for work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This was incredible! My ANTI-squash teen boys devoured it and said "THIS IS GOOD MOM!" I added 1 cup of chardonnay with the chicken broth. I halved four squash and baked them in the oven face in two 9 x 13 glass dishes first, then scooped the flesh out into my delightful seasoned onions and garlic mixture sizzling in butter. I didn't have thyme so I used a little rosemary and sage. I also did not have allspice so used nutmeg. Thank you for this recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Loved this recipe! I used about 3/4 of a whole butternut squash instead of 1/2. I added 1/2 a Granny Smith apple when I added the squash to boil. Also added whole milk when I was blending it. Very good! I served with a fresh fall salad with craisins, 1 Granny Smith apple cut up, slivered honey almonds, & feta cheese with a poppyseed dressing. It complimented the soup very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
OMG! I've never even eaten butternut squash and decided to try this with 1/2 a squash and the other half roasted with potatoes as a side for dinner....AMAZING! I kind of winged it a bit as far as proportions and wish I made more. I added a bay leaf while I simmered the final product and a dash of cayenne and the sweet and spicy was perfect for us. Thank you so much for turning me on to this flavorful squash:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janasue1459

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
quick, easy, and deliciou!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Very good soup! The first time I made it per the recipe with the exception of the cumin (I just don't like cumin) and it was a hit. Since then, I have been adding a pinch of crushed red pepper flakes and about an eighth of a cup of diced celery to the pan while cooking the onion and it's incredibly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Really liked it! My tweaks were simply because I used what I had on hand... did not use a bullion cube, only used 2.5-ish cups of chicken stock, added couple of shakes of kosher salt, and simmered for 30-40 minutes. Then added the spices ( more allspice, less cumin,and a tad of ground peper and 2 shakes kosher salt) and then added 1/2 -ish cup of heavy cream. Removed from heat and used my new Cuisinart hand blender.. and voila! Absolutely perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States