Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Absolutely delicious. Been trying to find foods that are healthy and that the kids will eat. Tried this exactly as written and the whole family devoured it. My husband insisted there was heavy cream in it... which makes me think it doesn't need it. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Washingtonville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
fabulous flavor-I recommend using the cream as others have suggested. Also added nutmeg and cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Home run of a recipe. I followed the modifications suggested by one of the commenters to peel and cube the squash, then roast under the broiler for 10 minutes (stirring once after 5 mins). I also added about a cup of celery to the garlic and onion sautee. I used half vegetable broth and half chicken broth. Wonderful flavor. I will definitely make this recipe again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This has become a staple in my house. Have tried it both with and without added an apple - delicious both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
The flavors of this recipe compliment each other wonderfully! My dinner party group raved about this dish! It is one of my new favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This soup was awesome! I did not have any Thyme, I used an entire squash (which I roasted first to bring out flavor and ease of peeling), added an apple and 1 can of evaporated milk. It got rave reviews from my guest - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurelinn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Really very tasty! I followed the recipe exactly but added a few changes like others suggested... I added 1/2 c half and half before pureeing and i topped it off with bacon and a touch of sour cream. I couldn't believe I made it! Flavorful and easy for the new soup makers such as myself. Definitely a keeper and worth trying...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Perfect use of leftover frozen squash. I broiled the cubed squash them a little in the oven before cooking them. Since I didn't have Allspice, I used cinnamon & nutmeg instead. Still turned out delicious without the thyme. Will definitely keep this recipe in our binder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WANSHAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This soup was terrific. I used 3 small butternut squash, cut in half, roasted in oven at 450 for 45 minutes. Scooped out squash, refrigerated until I made the soup, the next day. The only other change I made was to add half of a diced jalepeno pepper to the onion, garlic mixture. Perfect combination of spicy/sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Excellent. I'd rather peel the squash first for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States