Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Added an apple per another reviewer and also roasted the squash beforehand. Pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CeliaBelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
made this today it was a hit to everyone even easy enough for a beginner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
The only change I made to this recipe was to oven roast a whole squash instead of a half. I cut it in half, and cooked it at 400 degrees for about 30 minutes with a tablespoon of butter in the middle and seasoned with salt and pepper. I left everything else the same. This was honestly the best butternut squash soup I have ever tasted!!!! And I was so happy that it didn't have any cream or potatoes in it. Thank you for this recipe, my entire family loved it! Three generations of us :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
The way I made it was love! 3lbs butternut squash (about 1.5c= 2 squashes), 2.5c chicken broth, .5c whipping cream, about .75tsp curry powder instead of thyme, cumin and allspice. I know it isn't the same recipe, but this gave me the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cook and a half
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I made this and originally did not use the cumin. I did end up adding it and I don't care for it. I thought it was pretty good before the cumin (which I love) I just don't think it should have been added. My husband thought it was really good and even the daughter liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Photo by Cliff G
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I give this four stars because I am sure it at least deserves that. I did make some changes on how I made my soup but it was this recipe that got me started.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Very, very good. I added fresh sage and rosemary as well as thyme, and added carrots and celery to the aromatics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This was a straight-forward soup that was simple to make with standard pantry items. I didn’t bother with adding the chicken bouillon because I used my home-made chicken broth which is very flavorful. I snuck in a few tablespoons of cream just to add a little creamy richness. This soup didn’t have a lot of complexity of flavor, but was very satisfying and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Doubled the butternut squash, added curry and finished with light coconut milk. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
WOW! The title doesn't lie - this soup is wonderful! Hubby and I both had 3 bowls. I tried one bowl with some sour cream, and it was amazing! I also added a pinch of cinnamon to the pot at the suggestion of one of the reviews. Hubby said he wasn't sure about the cinnamon, so he added a little more salt to his servings. It was SO satisfying, no matter how we doctored it with each serving, or even if we didn't. Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States