Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Not very flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This is very good and easy to make. I rate it 4 stars as is but tweaked it further AFTER I tasted it. To make it 5 stars in my book, I added some ground ginger and a few more cloves of roasted garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Love the cumin the recipe. Has a middle eastern flavor that is enjoyable. I roasted the squash before adding it to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This isn't exactly "the best" butternut squash soup I've ever had, but non-the-less, it is a good soup, along with some modifications. The soup definitely needed some tweaking to make it more flavorable. First, I saute'd 4 tablespoons of diced onion along with a pinch of dried thyme leaves, in the 1-1/2 tablespoons of melted butter for about 2 minutes over medium heat, then I added the 2 cloves of garlic (minced), and saute'd that for about 30 seconds. I then added 3 cups of the broth, 1/2 teaspoon of bouillon granules, 3 pinches of ground allspice, 3 pinches of ground cumin, 2 pinches of black pepper, plus 4 cups of the squash (which I cut into 1/2-inch cubes). I did not add any salt, as this soup does not need it!! I then brought the soup ingredients to a boil, then lowered the heat to a simmer, and cooked it for exactly 23 minutes. (The squash was tender by then.) I then stirred in the last cup of broth, which helped to cool down the soup a bit. I poured a third of the soup into a blender, and just pressed the "blend" button to puree' the soup. I added the puree'd soup into another pan, and heated it on low, and finished puree'ing the soup in batches, until all the soup was smooth, then adding it to the already puree'd soup in the pan to finish heating the soup through. I read the reviews posted, and don't know why others stated this soup was abit runny. I found it to be slightly thick. It had the texture of a "bisque" soup. With modifications made, this soup was good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticGoddess
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I could not believe how simple & fast it was to make this soup It was met with rave reviews by all. The flavor was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I followed the recipe almost exactly. I just used the entire squash and it was wonderful!! I didn't have any thyme or allspice so didn't use these. This taste like a soup from a 5 star restaurant!!!! Making another batch this weekend. Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Added an apple per another reviewer and also roasted the squash beforehand. Pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CeliaBelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
made this today it was a hit to everyone even easy enough for a beginner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
The only change I made to this recipe was to oven roast a whole squash instead of a half. I cut it in half, and cooked it at 400 degrees for about 30 minutes with a tablespoon of butter in the middle and seasoned with salt and pepper. I left everything else the same. This was honestly the best butternut squash soup I have ever tasted!!!! And I was so happy that it didn't have any cream or potatoes in it. Thank you for this recipe, my entire family loved it! Three generations of us :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
The way I made it was love! 3lbs butternut squash (about 1.5c= 2 squashes), 2.5c chicken broth, .5c whipping cream, about .75tsp curry powder instead of thyme, cumin and allspice. I know it isn't the same recipe, but this gave me the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States