Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Loved this! Delicious and healthy. It was thiner than I expected. I can adjust because I will definitlely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BrandiChristine
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I hate soup....but I absolutely love this recipe!! I omitted the allspice and added about half a cup of half and half and a few tablespoons of honey and it gives it an amazing taste!! Best soup ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrandiChristine

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Didnt have celery and added a pinch of allspice at the end was really yummy! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Great recipe! I am on a Peleo diet and this works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I made this soup and my husband loved it! He requests it every winter when butternut squash is in season. And I love it too. I sub in 4 strips of turkey bacon to reduce the fat. The topping of sour cream with bis of bacon really enhances the soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I made this with a couple modifications - I roasted the squash for 15 minutes and increased the amount of squash. The soup tasted like squash, but even with a pinch of cumin it was a little too savory. Might be improved with a dash of cinnamon or nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Not very flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This is very good and easy to make. I rate it 4 stars as is but tweaked it further AFTER I tasted it. To make it 5 stars in my book, I added some ground ginger and a few more cloves of roasted garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Love the cumin the recipe. Has a middle eastern flavor that is enjoyable. I roasted the squash before adding it to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This isn't exactly "the best" butternut squash soup I've ever had, but non-the-less, it is a good soup, along with some modifications. The soup definitely needed some tweaking to make it more flavorable. First, I saute'd 4 tablespoons of diced onion along with a pinch of dried thyme leaves, in the 1-1/2 tablespoons of melted butter for about 2 minutes over medium heat, then I added the 2 cloves of garlic (minced), and saute'd that for about 30 seconds. I then added 3 cups of the broth, 1/2 teaspoon of bouillon granules, 3 pinches of ground allspice, 3 pinches of ground cumin, 2 pinches of black pepper, plus 4 cups of the squash (which I cut into 1/2-inch cubes). I did not add any salt, as this soup does not need it!! I then brought the soup ingredients to a boil, then lowered the heat to a simmer, and cooked it for exactly 23 minutes. (The squash was tender by then.) I then stirred in the last cup of broth, which helped to cool down the soup a bit. I poured a third of the soup into a blender, and just pressed the "blend" button to puree' the soup. I added the puree'd soup into another pan, and heated it on low, and finished puree'ing the soup in batches, until all the soup was smooth, then adding it to the already puree'd soup in the pan to finish heating the soup through. I read the reviews posted, and don't know why others stated this soup was abit runny. I found it to be slightly thick. It had the texture of a "bisque" soup. With modifications made, this soup was good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DomesticGoddess

Displaying results 31-40 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States