Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Fabulous soup! WIshed I had at least doubled it! Used dried Thyme (about 2 tsp), a dash of roasted coriander and at least 1 tsp of cumin. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I've tried several different recipes, this is by far the best! It does have the deep flavor, but not overly rich like some I've made. Like everyone else, I tweaked it a little: roasted the squash, added 1/2 apple, some cayenne for kick, and 1/2 cup sour cream at the puree stage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Delicious! The only thing I changed was to double the recipe and add 1/4 cream. Next time I'll roast the squash instead of boiling it and I'll use 1/2 the recommended chicken stock b/c I like a thicker soup. Great starter recipe. There are endless yummy ways to tweak this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
My man and I loved this soup! We're on a diet and this was a nice variety to add! We used half an onion, a whole butternut squash from Whole Foods, 4 cups of chicken broth (it was on sale), and the spices I added instead were: vegetable bouillion cube (instead of chicken), hot madras curry, cumin, salt and pepper, cinnamon, vanilla soymilk and some brown sugar. I like a mixture of sweet and savory flavors in my butternut squash soup and it turned out great! Will use 3 and a half cups of chicken broth next time, though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
Doubled the recipe. This soup is thin. Not thick, which is fine for me but if you are expecting a rich thick soup keep looking for another version. I chose this for the low calorie count. It's very tasty. Not too sweet which is great!! I made this to pop individual servings into freezer for fast lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Following the advice of another cook, I roasted the butternut squash in the oven for about an hour at 400 and just poked holes in it. After it was roasted, I sliced it in half lengthwise, removed the seeds and cubed the squash. I let it cool and refrigerated it. The next day, I used my already cooked and cubed squash in the recipe and followed the recipe using homemade chicken stock rather than canned broth. This recipe was just right for a nice healthy soup that is filling and tasty!!! Thanks for sharing! I did use the whole butternut squash as I like my soup a little thicker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHSOSH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Great and easy. I used Vietnamese vegetarian soup base instead of chicken broth. Also used Bestlife olive oil spread instead of butter. Worked great. For mine twist adding salt and fresh pepper brought out the flavor nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Really good - love that you don't have to use any cream if you don't want to. I put a dollop of sour cream in. I think 4 cups is too much broth. I used about a whole squash - half was already roasted, the other half was cubed. And with 4 cups, it was not quite as thick as I would have liked, but still good. I also added some sauteed turkey sausage and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
This recipe is very good, but I combined it with Emeril's recipe'....fantastic! Try saute'ing the veggies until lightly browned; substitue the allspice with nutmeg and just a pinch or two of ginger (hold back a bit on the nutmeg) and as one person also suggested, add some cream. For a kick add Jalepino's if you like warm to hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Thomaston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I made this pretty much as written, except that I used a whole squash since it was pretty small. The only other change I made was to add a dash of ginger. I did have to simmer the squash for about 25 minutes until it was tender, though. I think the taste and the texture are perfect. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Colmenarejo, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States