Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Gotta give it five stars. This is my "go to" recipe for Butternut Squash Soup. I do add a bit more cumin because I just love the flavor. Fresh thyme is a must. Cream is unnecessary, but I usually add a drizzle at the end because it just tastes soooo good. The first half a dozen times I made this, I followed what others said to do and I roasted the squash. The last time I made it, I was pressed for time, so I just followed the recipe exactly - and that's what made me realize...no need to take an hour out of your day to roast the squash. I really couldn't figure out the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Wiehl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Pretty good. Can't complain for the first time. But I truly believe if you make it word for word you won't be disappointed. But I do agree about roasting the squash first and it wouldn't hurt to use more than recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msgalfriend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
The original recipe for this soup is a bit bland. To make thicken the soup we used less water/broth, and to make the flavour more dynamic we added finely crushed almonds; what a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda MacKenzie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I've made this soup abt 10 times each winter, for 2 winters in a row! I always double the squash & add abt 1/2 cup more broth. I always roast my squash in the oven, drizzled w extra virgen olive oil & minced garlic. I add abt 1/2 cup of heavy cream at the end as well. It's so good, I have my mother in law leaving me cut up squash in my fridge as a hint!! I will always use this recipe!! Thanks a bunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This recipe is a good base. I doubled the amount of squash and added chili powder, cayenne pepper and Tony Chachere's seasoning. I was trying to replicate a "spicy squash soup" I had at a restaurant and I would say...mission accomplished!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I love this recipe and make it every year at Thanksgiving. My husband thinks it needs cream, which I am not a fan of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I made this for my family tonight and my son was giving me a hard time about not cooking the squash like I usually do with the brown sugar and marshmallows lol. But after everyone tried it they asked for seconds. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This is really good and so easy! I use vegetable broth and dried thyme. I also purchased a package of pre-cut butternut squash from Costco. That makes it even easier! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Amazing! I also roasted the squash and onion. Used 1 can of chicken broth (didn't have stock) and 1C unsweetened coconut milk. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
First time making soup and this was so easy & delicious. Things I added- one apple sliced & peeled, pumpkin spice & red pepper flakes. Whole thing was done in 25 minutes with 4 tupperwares ready for work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States