Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Gotta give it five stars. This is my "go to" recipe for Butternut Squash Soup. I do add a bit more cumin because I just love the flavor. Fresh thyme is a must. Cream is unnecessary, but I usually add a drizzle at the end because it just tastes soooo good. The first half a dozen times I made this, I followed what others said to do and I roasted the squash. The last time I made it, I was pressed for time, so I just followed the recipe exactly - and that's what made me realize...no need to take an hour out of your day to roast the squash. I really couldn't figure out the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Wiehl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Pretty good. Can't complain for the first time. But I truly believe if you make it word for word you won't be disappointed. But I do agree about roasting the squash first and it wouldn't hurt to use more than recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msgalfriend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
The original recipe for this soup is a bit bland. To make thicken the soup we used less water/broth, and to make the flavour more dynamic we added finely crushed almonds; what a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda MacKenzie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I've made this soup abt 10 times each winter, for 2 winters in a row! I always double the squash & add abt 1/2 cup more broth. I always roast my squash in the oven, drizzled w extra virgen olive oil & minced garlic. I add abt 1/2 cup of heavy cream at the end as well. It's so good, I have my mother in law leaving me cut up squash in my fridge as a hint!! I will always use this recipe!! Thanks a bunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This recipe is a good base. I doubled the amount of squash and added chili powder, cayenne pepper and Tony Chachere's seasoning. I was trying to replicate a "spicy squash soup" I had at a restaurant and I would say...mission accomplished!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I love this recipe and make it every year at Thanksgiving. My husband thinks it needs cream, which I am not a fan of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I made this for my family tonight and my son was giving me a hard time about not cooking the squash like I usually do with the brown sugar and marshmallows lol. But after everyone tried it they asked for seconds. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This is really good and so easy! I use vegetable broth and dried thyme. I also purchased a package of pre-cut butternut squash from Costco. That makes it even easier! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Amazing! I also roasted the squash and onion. Used 1 can of chicken broth (didn't have stock) and 1C unsweetened coconut milk. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
First time making soup and this was so easy & delicious. Things I added- one apple sliced & peeled, pumpkin spice & red pepper flakes. Whole thing was done in 25 minutes with 4 tupperwares ready for work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States