Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Not a huge fan of butternut squash soup, but this is a pretty good recipe. If I ever make it again, I will use this recipe. So easy and has good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Wonderful warming soup! And simple to make, I always save the broth when I boil chicken, turkey, etc. I cool it and remove the fat from the top and freeze in baggies. I used the broth from boiled chicken in the recipe, also I found that fresh Thyme can be frozen in the store package and is easily removed from the stem, again wonderful recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Wow...this was the first time I'd made a Squash Soup. I used a full butternut squash, left out the cumin and allspice (as I didnt have any) and it turned out great : ) Cant wait to take this to work for a warm lunch...uummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This makes a delicious soup. I doubled the recipe and for the second serving added cream for a nice change. I can't get allspice here, so added fennel instead. Also, there is no need to peel the squash - a terribly fiddly process - as the skin dissolves and actually adds a nuttiness to the flavour. We've had this a few times and it's now a favourite in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheffield, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
This is an easy soup to make, and delicious also. I added more cumin, and garlic. I make a large batch and freeze it in quart size ziploc bags. It is easy to warm and eat with sandwiches made with wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
anyone finding it a little stocky should try substituting half the amount of stock with coconut milk, which adds a creamy texture and goes well with the small red chilli that I also added, which I just can't physically cook any soup without :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
So good! I was looking for a lowfat version of butternut squash soup, and even when I doubled the butter to 3 tbsp, it still worked out to 3g of fat per cup. I used an entire 5lb squash as I wanted a thicker soup, and upped the seasoning to 3/4 tsp of the allspice and cumin, as well as a dash of nutmeg. I served with some lowfat sour cream on top. Even my pickypants fiance loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Ever since the first time I made this I've been making it again and again. The only thing I do differently is I roast the squash ahead with the seeds, scoop it out and use it from the freezer (thawed first). Add a dollop of yogurt and a pinch or so of Garam Masala seasoning and it's just out of this world. I like a little sweetness to it, so I also add some sweetener to it (just for me at the table). Oh and I also like a spice to it so "Slap Yo Mamma" spice is also great in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
DELICIOUS! Loved it! Had it on christmas before dinner. WOnderful. Did 3 cup sof lowfat loww sodium chickenbroth and after using a hand blender added 1 cup heavy cream. Super easy, big thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States