Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I loved the texture of this soup but the flavor was a little boring. Maybe my pinches of cumin and allspice were too small. I did add a little nutmeg after my first few bites which helped a little. I'll try it again but add more thyme, cumin, garlic, and allspice and maybe nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Chappell Jones Burrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Everyone loved this soup - and this from a family that does not like butternut squash. I did omit the allspice ( not a fan) but added a shot of sherry and about a cup of heavy cream. Fabulous!!! Will make time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Excellent recipe, easy and delicious. Also works well with a handful of fresh sage tossed in during the puree process instead of using thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EuroGirl6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgeway, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This is also a great recipe for the Magic Bullet if you use one. All (modified amounts) ingredients in except cream, microwave for 4 minutes, add cream and blend. Simple single serving recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Very nice recipe Chester! Simple to make and tastes very close to restaurant quality soup. We've found that using a 4 lb. butternutt squash for the 4 cups of broth gives a nice level of thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This has great flavor and consistency; I used a hand-held mixer to smooth it out, after which it was perfect. Terrific for canning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Awesome! My family loved this. I used this recipe because it did not contain dairy. I used less broth following someone else's advice and I did not add bouillon cube because of the sodium. We enjoyed this with a tossed salad and crusty bread. I think I will serve this as a first course for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Truly delicious! I love that it's not sweet like most squash soup recipes. I used a whole squash, and it was BIG! My husband and I ate this for days, and we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I love this soup! I added another squash, used water instead of stock, added 1/2 C soy milk. so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This soup was very tasty,very tasty. I found pre-peeled, pre-cubed butternut squash at Costco that made preparation super easy; it was in the cold room where you find lettuce and sugar snap peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States