Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Way too much butter. I think next time I'll just saute in a little olive oil. Other than that - delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSFROSTY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
an easy 5 STARS i used a whole squash cut in half seasoned and roasted. i also added a little cayenne pepper to spice it up a bit and about a cup of 10% cream. I didn't have thyme but I wish i had i think that if its even possible it may have made it better. I also topped each bowl of the soup with a dollop of sour cream. Thanx for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Fabulous! I roasted my squash in the oven (drizzled with EVOO and threw on some extra garlic cloves) first. I also added some red pepper flakes to give it some heat when adding in the cumin. I had to use dried thyme since I didn't have any fresh sprigs but it worked out just fine. If the soup isn't quite thick enough, you can add a bit of cream to thicken it up. A keeper for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
yum! This was great on a cold day! I'll keep this one on had and try to make it more...:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This was my first time ever eating butternut squash. I followed the recipe for the most part, although I did add allspice or chicken bouillon(didn't have any) It was fantastic! I really like that its a dairy free version too! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Unionjack

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandy Hook, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Very easy, flavorful and healthy soup! I roasted the squash before adding it to the pot. Used dried Thyme instead of fresh and omitted the bouillon cube. I'm enjoying a cup of this wonderful soup as I write this! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I loved the texture of this soup but the flavor was a little boring. Maybe my pinches of cumin and allspice were too small. I did add a little nutmeg after my first few bites which helped a little. I'll try it again but add more thyme, cumin, garlic, and allspice and maybe nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Everyone loved this soup - and this from a family that does not like butternut squash. I did omit the allspice ( not a fan) but added a shot of sherry and about a cup of heavy cream. Fabulous!!! Will make time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Excellent recipe, easy and delicious. Also works well with a handful of fresh sage tossed in during the puree process instead of using thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EuroGirl6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgeway, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This is also a great recipe for the Magic Bullet if you use one. All (modified amounts) ingredients in except cream, microwave for 4 minutes, add cream and blend. Simple single serving recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States