Best Butternut Squash Soup Ever Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Great soup with fantastic flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Way to thin & watered down!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Amazing soup!!!! This is a keeper!!! It's also easy. The hardest part is peeling and cubing the squash, but I had half a squash already cubed in the fridge. (Actually, the only reason I tried this was that I was trying to find a recipe to use with my leftover squash - just can't stand the thought of wasting good food). I also decided, after reading some of the reviews, to bake it rather than boil it because I love the sweeter taste of baked/roasted veggies, and that's the only change I made. Perfect flavor and consistency - just like another reviewer said, this is a 5-star restaurant soup. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This recipe made me love butternut squash. Baking the squash and adding the cream as others suggested added lots of flavor. I exchanged the allspice for curry powder and omitted the bouillon cube. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Had some frozen butternut squash, so decided to try this. It turned out well, a very flavorful soup I will be eating for lunch this week. Please heed the warning about not filling the blender too full. I did and had a mess on my hands, and my shirt, and my pants.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Rye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Very good. Added some nutmeg. EASY to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
This is a delicious and amazing recipe! I make this soup often, especially when butternut squash is in its best season, fall and winter. Very versatile, I have tried making the soup thicker, and added more allspice or cumin at different times, I also enjoy garnishing the soup with chives. It always comes out great. The recipe has a perfect blend of spices that compliment the soup well! My husband loves it as well as my 2 year old daughter, and she is a super picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OrganicGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I made this soup today not quite knowing what to expect. WOW! In my opinion it is outstanding. Great soup for a cold winter day like today. I accompanied it with whole wheat pita sliced down the middle and toasted until crispy. Did not add butter, but you certainly could to enhance the toasted flavor. A great way to get the benefits of squash in a tasty dish. Liked it so much that next time I will double the recipe. Baking the other half of the butternut with apples and pears using another recipe from this site, as I complete this review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Gotta give it five stars. This is my "go to" recipe for Butternut Squash Soup. I do add a bit more cumin because I just love the flavor. Fresh thyme is a must. Cream is unnecessary, but I usually add a drizzle at the end because it just tastes soooo good. The first half a dozen times I made this, I followed what others said to do and I roasted the squash. The last time I made it, I was pressed for time, so I just followed the recipe exactly - and that's what made me realize...no need to take an hour out of your day to roast the squash. I really couldn't figure out the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Wiehl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Pretty good. Can't complain for the first time. But I truly believe if you make it word for word you won't be disappointed. But I do agree about roasting the squash first and it wouldn't hurt to use more than recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msgalfriend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States