Best Buttermilk Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This recipe is amazing. I was a little leary after looking at the ingredients list, and while I didn't have butter flavored crisco, I used 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup Crisco And still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tatiana Maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
'Made these & "Buttermilk Biscuits I". I liked the other ones better. These were okay, but need some tweaking to be better than that. The flour, shortening, buttermilk ratio seemed near perfect. Often, much more flour is required than the recipe states; but not this one. Nice change. These have a beautiful golden finish, btw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Followed the recipe but they turned out hard and flat. Not sure if the dough shouldn't be kneaded so much or if I rolled them out too thin. Hmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This biscuits were delicious. I should have followed some reviews and brushed a little melted butter on them before baking but even without that they were yummy. Oh I also used butter instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I substitute butter for shortening. I've gotten many rave requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frannie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
First biscuits I ever made and now I am the Biscuit Guru! Made some changes as per others here: 1/2 cup butter instead of shortening. Eliminated baking soda, pinch of salt and bigger pinch of sugar. Fabulous! Also cook them on a preheated pizza stone. To make'm cheesier: cup of grated cheese, teaspoon dry mustard, pinch cayenne. Oooh baby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Made these Christmas morning and they tasted great. I have never made biscuits before and these were not hard to make. I did use too small of a biscuit cutter and the biscuits were about the size of an Oreo cookie. Even though they were small they rose perfectly and were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This was so easy to make and very delicious! They make the title! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
They were very good. I added a little more sugar. But I will try all butter next time instead of shorting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Made these on a cold night and served with a pot of stew. These biscuits are the perfect texture and were a great hit with the family. Taste very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TGural

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States