Best Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2000
This was a nightmare. It was runny and looked and tasted nothing like buttercream. I suggest trying to find a better one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2000
This is a great recipe if you remember to cool the flour mixture to room temperature. Must also beat for quite a while(approx 10 minutes)before mixture begins to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2000
04/00 - Very sweet and tasty, but not at all like buttercream. Quite difficult to make and apply due to maleble texture. 11/06 - Tried this recipe again after 6 years using 10x confectioners sugar (had never heard of 'white sugar' last time around) and followed the recipe exactly; it still did not come out or taste as expected. I must be doing something wrong, but don't know what. I will not make again - my family wouldn't eat any more after the 1st bite. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2000
You absolutely HAVE to have an electric mixer to make this recipe, or else the consistency does not turn out right. Also, check the sugar amount; my husband found this frosting so sweet, he would not finish the chocolate cake it was on, and I've never seen my husband turn down chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2000
So good it should be illegal. I've been looking for this recipe for years. I wonder if the people who rated this poorly used the correct sugar. White sugar is not a good description for confectioners 10X.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
Frosting was delicious. Will definitely become one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
This is a wonderful buttercream frosting recipe! I think that the ingredients list should say powdered or confectioners sugar, though, NOT white sugar. If you use this recipe, use confectioners sugar! It turned out to be a wonderful consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2002
it's fab. it's quite easy to make, and quite quick too. it doesn't require any of those silly complicated ingredients like shortening. it's simple, but effective. thanlks jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
This came out tasting strongly of the flour/milk paste. Strong enough for me to throw the whole batch out and start again. Oh, well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2002
Perfect! What more can I say.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 409) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States