Best Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I made this frosting today to put on a lemon bundt cake. I had actually read about this type of frosting quite a long time ago but hadn't ever tried making it until today. It is superb! I used the measurements called for in the recipe except I used Lemon Extract instead of vanilla to go with my lemon cake. I also used Superfine Granulated Sugar. I thought about using powered sugar but really wanted to try it with granulated. Since I already had both the regular table sugar and the superfine, I tried it with the superfine. My frosting was not the least bit grainy, it's silky smooth. I first mixed the flour/milk in a shaker bottle then poured into a saucepan and cooked, stirring constantly over medium low heat until it was very thick, but not until it formed a ball. Then I stuck the pan into the fridge for a short time, just enough to cool it down completely but not to get outright cold. I actually used my hand mixer and didn't have any problems but I do have a good hand mixer. Anyway, creamed the butter for a bit, added the sugar and creamed again for about 5 minutes. Added the flour/milk mixture and creamed about 5 more minutes. Added the extract and then creamed for maybe 5 more minutes -- so, about 15 minutes total. Yes, this is more time consuming then traditional buttercream but the texture is simply heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
The first time I made this frosting it turned out great! The frosting was just like my grandmothers. I covered a dark chocolate cake with it and everyone loved it. This recipe is very easy to make just as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Have been making this for over a year now and so far the best frosting recipe I have found
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I read the reviews about cooking it long enough. I feel I did that. I let it cool to room temperature and I did not care for the consistency. I feel like that is the reason why there were bits of it in the frosting, plus I really didn't care for the texture of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ToybobMama11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
We love cupcakes around here, so we make a lot of frostings. This one is the BEST buttercream frosting, period. The key to this is patience! First, whisk the flour and milk together completely before heating it. Don't worry about the flour and milk forming a ball, either- it just needs to get to a smooth, thick consistency, but it takes some time over low to medium heat. KEEP WHISKING THE WHOLE TIME YOU ARE HEATING IT! Cool it to about 85 degrees and then add to the sugar/butter. You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
"forms a ball" meant absolutely nothing to me, and the recipe should specify more on the fact that the flour mixture cannot pass room temperature or it doesn't work, and the mixture was far too much of a liquid to be called "frosting"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carla238

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I LOVED this frosting! I did not cook the milk and flour until it formed a ball, but just until it was a glue-y consistency. I also used pure can sugar and put it in the food processor first for a finer grit and added a tablespoon of honey to this recipe! It really does take 20+ min to beat it to the correct consistency.... Masterful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janisjoslyn
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This is not your typical rich buttercream. If you're looking for a whipped type of icing that's not too sweet, this is perfect! I cooked the flour & milk until it became thick (like white gravy). I was worried that the sugar could be "grainy" or "crunchy" and it was a little bit at first but once I refrigerated it for a few hours.....everything came together perfectly. I would use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Awesome recipe! Just what I was looking for to frost my cupcakes with. Took the advice of another reviewer and added the flour gradually to the milk and kept on whisking. Also used icing sugar instead of granulated. I added orange flavoring instead of vanilla and added some colouring. Twas just perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I made this for the first time today and I loved it!!!!!! I even doubled the recipe to make sure I would have enough. It's nice and buttery but not too sweet. This is the one you need if like you're like me & think rhe buttercream icing is way too sweet! I was a little nervous after reading all the reviews about cooking the milk & flour, then making sure it was cool enough before adding to the butter/sugar mixture. All in all I did pretty good for my first try. Hopefully everyone likes this at the party tomorrow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 405) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States