Best Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by virgogirl9877
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
the first time i made this, it was not successful. i did not whisked the flour and milk enough that i couldn't remove the lumps on the flour. in the end, i could not pipe the frosting because of the lumps. i tried it the second time, making sure to whisk thoroughly the flour and the milk on the saucepan first before turning on the stove. you have to make sure that the flour was completely dissolved on the milk otherwise there would be lumps. be patient when mixing the flour/milk because eventually it would be sticky and would be glue like after a couple of mixing. you also have to cool it COMPLETELY, otherwise the butter/sugar will melt once you combine it. i always use this now when i bake cupcakes, not too sweet but creamy and delicious. definitely the best buttercream frosting for me(as of the moment).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by virgogirl9877

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Imus, Cavite, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Surprised how this ended. I decided to make this since I didn't have confectionery sugar. I was nervous about making it since I didn't have an electric mixer but I managed to make it light an fluffy. The trick I found to the flour milk mixture was to cook it on high stirring constantly then stop stirring it for maybe 15-20 seconds. When I returned to stirring it thickened right up! Instead of a ball look for the mixture to be like cake batter or brownie batter consistency. Once it is thick remove from heat and cool. I then tackled the butter sugar whipping and after 20 minutes of beating on and off I thought it was as good as I could get it. By this time the flower mixture was cool. I mixed both together to find an amazing light fluffy concoction. This was a hit on my cupcakes and it made so much extra I have a container in my fridge that I like to eat from! :) YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I have a soy allergy so I always make my own icing, and I will tell you, this really is the best icing. The recipe actually does work just the way it is, but there are a few tips that make it easier: -Read "white sugar" as "confectioner's sugar". I've done it both ways and granlated doesn't mess it up (and if you use fine it's not grainy either), but confectioner's sugar has a better level of sweetness in my opinion. -Make a roux, it's just easier. Melt 3 tablespoons out of your cup of butter, stir in the flour, cook a little, add milk. When the milk starts to boil and you stir, it WILL thicken, and if you keep stirring it WILL form a ball (in that it's going to kling to the spoon and come away from the sides of the pot, turning into a ball). Sometimes, if you use too much butter to do this, the texture can be a little off, which leads us to... -Oh no, I think I messed it up. If the dough ball has a funny texture or you accidentally blended them together while the dough ball was too hot, it's okay. If you think you messed up, mix it together anyway. Beat the hell out of it so that texture-wise it's smooth. Then chill it (I'm impatient, i pop it in the freezer). It's almost entirely butter, it will reharden. When it's more solid, beat it again until it's fluffy icing. You added a few steps, but you saved it, and I promise it tastes amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I read most of the reviews before and after attempting this recipe so was prepared for the challenge to get it right. My flour/milk mixture got very thick and I allowed it to cool to room temperature. My butter/sugar mixture was very creamy. But when I mixed the two together, even after beating them for over a half hour the ingredients just kept separating. It never left the liquid state either even after sitting over an hour in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I give this recipe 5 starts! I needed a frosting recipe that did not require powdered sugar because I did not have any on hand. I must say that I am impressed with the way this turned out! (AND.. my husband loved it!) You need to beat your butter/sugar mixture for a very long time. If you have any graininess in your butter/sugar you need to beat it some more. Follow this recipe to a "T" and you'll have great tasting frosting! Will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
It's really good. And really easy though I made the mistake of not reading all the directions beforehand - I was up very late waiting for everything to cool down. My mistake. This is my husbands new favourite - it's not too sweet and healthier than the recipes made with whipping cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
FANTASTIC frosting! Not too sweet and the perfect consistency. The key is to make sure the flour is completely cooked (mine did not form a ball, but got very very thick) and to make sure the butter/sugar is creamed together a long time so the sugar dissolves completely. My go to frosting recipe from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I made this frosting on cupcakes for a bunch of kids. They all loved it and wanted another cupcake right after. They literally ate the frosting right off the top in one bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I wanted to make buttercream without shortening and tried this recipe. It tastes great but the flour-milk mixture became lumpy. I left it too long to cool. Anyone suggest how long to leave it out to room temperature? I'll do it again though and hopefully, becomes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raeni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States