Best Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
FANTASTIC frosting! Not too sweet and the perfect consistency. The key is to make sure the flour is completely cooked (mine did not form a ball, but got very very thick) and to make sure the butter/sugar is creamed together a long time so the sugar dissolves completely. My go to frosting recipe from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I made this frosting on cupcakes for a bunch of kids. They all loved it and wanted another cupcake right after. They literally ate the frosting right off the top in one bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I wanted to make buttercream without shortening and tried this recipe. It tastes great but the flour-milk mixture became lumpy. I left it too long to cool. Anyone suggest how long to leave it out to room temperature? I'll do it again though and hopefully, becomes better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raeni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Fairly quick and easy. I agree with a previous review, it is very important the flour and milk be allowed to thicken adequately. My only improvement to this would be to cut back a little on the sugar, it was a bit sweet for me. Otherwise, a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
The Consistency was like pudding. And i made the flour/ milk mixture really thick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I have made this recipe (under a different name) for 45 years. I found it in my grandmmother's recipe box. The post to whisk the flour and milk until thick is correct, not to a "ball", and you must let it cool completely, which thickens it more. Additionally, PLEASE use granulated sugar, even if you must use superfine (or measure sugar and magic-bullet-it to a powder). During years my tired mixer could not beat sugar in completely I would refrigerate overnight to let sugar dissolve and thaw and mix the next day before spreading over cake. Hide in refrigerator or someone will eat it! In recent years I have started adding 2 tablespoons meringue powder (at any stage but i tend to add to milk and flour before cooking) to help stabilize at room temperature because it does tend to get melty above 65 degrees or so. It takes all additions nicely; 2 8-ounce packages softened cream cheese for carrot cake or pumpkin bread icing, 2 squares melted baking chocolate, cooled, added in a thin stream as icing for yellow cake. It also takes color really well. Original recipe as I found it (in 1965) was called Aunt Mitzi's Icing. My aunt renamed it Lynn's Icing in 1973 because I was the only person who had ever made it. Anyone else have origins?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I'm 15 and this is the first butttercream I have ever made, and it was DELICIOUS! i brought some in for school and everyone loved it!I really want to be a professional baker when I am older, so thank you for this recipe. Definitely will keep using this one!(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
If you don't have powdered sugar, or if you are new this is a great starter frosting. If you don't mix the ingridients just right it has a more icingf consistency or even a grainy one. Make sire to have a good porportion of flour and milk. Add it to the milk on a medium low heat. Do not blend the mixture, if anything wisk it, then use and electric mixture. If you do blend, do so for a short periodor the mixture will be too thin. When the mixture is thick and whipped looking put it in the fridge and wait. Patience is key in this tasty recipe! Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This is my husband's favorite frosting. He likes it on a Ho-Ho cake. We used this recipe with a banana bar recipe, and it was better than eating buttered banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Radcliff, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I made this frosting today to put on a lemon bundt cake. I had actually read about this type of frosting quite a long time ago but hadn't ever tried making it until today. It is superb! I used the measurements called for in the recipe except I used Lemon Extract instead of vanilla to go with my lemon cake. I also used Superfine Granulated Sugar. I thought about using powered sugar but really wanted to try it with granulated. Since I already had both the regular table sugar and the superfine, I tried it with the superfine. My frosting was not the least bit grainy, it's silky smooth. I first mixed the flour/milk in a shaker bottle then poured into a saucepan and cooked, stirring constantly over medium low heat until it was very thick, but not until it formed a ball. Then I stuck the pan into the fridge for a short time, just enough to cool it down completely but not to get outright cold. I actually used my hand mixer and didn't have any problems but I do have a good hand mixer. Anyway, creamed the butter for a bit, added the sugar and creamed again for about 5 minutes. Added the flour/milk mixture and creamed about 5 more minutes. Added the extract and then creamed for maybe 5 more minutes -- so, about 15 minutes total. Yes, this is more time consuming then traditional buttercream but the texture is simply heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States