Best Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
It was "okay" but nothing special. I'll definitely be looking for something different next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This is AMAZING! I messed up the first time by not cooking the flour/milk enough, and also melting the butter... bad move... solid butter, and heat the milk/flour till it literally balls up like mashed potato looking consistency. make sure to beat the sugar butter combo allot too it helps. following the instructions for mixing is important on this one for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I have been making this frosting for. . . all my life. . .50 years!!! It was handed down to me from my Mom, who got this when she worked in a little bakery in Chicago during college. The flour is just supposed to thicken, not form a ball. Immediately put the pan in the refrigerator to cool it completely. When cool, add to your butter mixture. It is absolutely the best frosting ever, and anytime I make it, everyone wants the recipe!!! It will become one of your favorites, too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I had high hopes from this recipe based on reviews. Everything came together just fine, although more time consuming and labor intensive than the usual butter-powdered sugar-milk-vanilla icing. We just did not care for this at all. It tastes like room temperature Cool Whip, void of any flavor or sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This the frosting I grew up with, and I love it because it is not overly sweet. It's pretty easy to alter too. I've been known to use frozen and thawed pureed strawberries instead of milk, and create a yummy strawberry buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I double the vanilla, I use this frosting for my homemade Twinkie and Hoho filling, this is always a hit with people who complain frosting is too sweet, my husband loves it on my strawberry cake as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Jajam
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I have been making this as a frosting since 1969, when I came across it as a filling for a chocolate cake. Not only is it delicious and creamy, but uses remarkably little sugar and fat since the flour paste makes up for a cup of shortening. It must be cooked to a stiff paste, like mashed potatoes that have been put through the blender. I have not found it very useful for intricate piping work, but might use it for soft piping with a large tip. If you use granular sugar, beat it until no grit remains, 10-15 minutes with a stand mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This is a recipe I have used since childhood. We used to call it "cooked" buttercream frosting versus the confectioners sugar/butter beaten buttercream frosting. It is light and fluffy, not cloying and sweet like supermarket frostings. It colors well, and can take on varying flavors like orange, vanilla, almond extract, etc. The flour-milk roux does not have to ball up (although I have had it do so), it merely needs to thicken and cool before adding to the sugar and butter. Whole-wheat flour doesn't work well, so forget about trying to be healthier. In lieu of all butter, my mother used to use half butter, half shortening, and it worked surprisingly well. I have used both confectioners and regular sugar, however,it is important that the regular sugar is creamed with the butter until it is no longer grainy. You can use Baker's or castor sugar (which is regular sugar ground up to be finer)or grind your regular sugar up a bit in your food processor. The cake should be at room temperature when served, or the frosting will taste stiff and greasy. Use it all, it is not great leftover for the same reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Amazing!!! The best I have ever made. Just take your time and it all will work out. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
BEST FROSTING EVER! At first, I was a little wary of this recipe; as I was cooking the milk and the flour, it wasn't thickening. But that is when I realized that the flour had sunk to the bottom and thickened into a paste which stuck to the bottom of the pan. But as I scraped that up, the milk thickened right away. It was disgusting looking and at that point I was 95% positive that I was NOT going to use this recipe. But boy was I wrong! After beating it with the butter and sugar mix it became fluffy and delicious. By far one of my top frosting favorites. It still has a buttercream flavor to it, but it is airy and less dense than traditional butter cream. I found that it worked really well with an almond flavoring. Definitively see this one through to the end. The recipe even made enough to generously decorate a three layer cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor White

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States