Best Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I will never EVER use another buttercream frosting recipe again. Mine came out so light and fluffy. The flour/milk didn't necessarily make a ball, but it was certainly thick enough to make one...I mean if you really WANT a ball. Anyway, used regular sugar but put it in the food processor to make it a little finer. Used it several times, most recently for an informal wedding cake, and EVERYONE raved about it. Had to email the recipe to something like 25 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUFFSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
My Mom has been making this frosting for so long that I actually thought it was a "secret family recipe". Oh well. But the part that does seem to be secret? DO NOT USE POWDERED SUGAR, PEOPLE. And if you don't follow the recipe, and you get a crappy product, that is not the fault of the recipe and a reason to give something a 1-star rating. Made properly this really is the best frosting you'll ever taste. My criticisms of this recipe as written: flour + water (milk in this case) = lumps if not handled properly. Ever had lumpy gravy? That's why. Mix the flour and milk VERY WELL and VERY QUICKLY before cooking. I use an immersion blender and mine always comes out great. This mixture doesn't have to form a ball, as some have mentioned, but a thick paste. I let it sit out to cool while I made the other half of the recipe, not in the 'fridge. Either stir while it cools or press plastic wrap against the surface to avoid the "skin".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Keane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
It was "okay" but nothing special. I'll definitely be looking for something different next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
This is AMAZING! I messed up the first time by not cooking the flour/milk enough, and also melting the butter... bad move... solid butter, and heat the milk/flour till it literally balls up like mashed potato looking consistency. make sure to beat the sugar butter combo allot too it helps. following the instructions for mixing is important on this one for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I have been making this frosting for. . . all my life. . .50 years!!! It was handed down to me from my Mom, who got this when she worked in a little bakery in Chicago during college. The flour is just supposed to thicken, not form a ball. Immediately put the pan in the refrigerator to cool it completely. When cool, add to your butter mixture. It is absolutely the best frosting ever, and anytime I make it, everyone wants the recipe!!! It will become one of your favorites, too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I had high hopes from this recipe based on reviews. Everything came together just fine, although more time consuming and labor intensive than the usual butter-powdered sugar-milk-vanilla icing. We just did not care for this at all. It tastes like room temperature Cool Whip, void of any flavor or sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This the frosting I grew up with, and I love it because it is not overly sweet. It's pretty easy to alter too. I've been known to use frozen and thawed pureed strawberries instead of milk, and create a yummy strawberry buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I double the vanilla, I use this frosting for my homemade Twinkie and Hoho filling, this is always a hit with people who complain frosting is too sweet, my husband loves it on my strawberry cake as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Jajam
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I have been making this as a frosting since 1969, when I came across it as a filling for a chocolate cake. Not only is it delicious and creamy, but uses remarkably little sugar and fat since the flour paste makes up for a cup of shortening. It must be cooked to a stiff paste, like mashed potatoes that have been put through the blender. I have not found it very useful for intricate piping work, but might use it for soft piping with a large tip. If you use granular sugar, beat it until no grit remains, 10-15 minutes with a stand mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This is a recipe I have used since childhood. We used to call it "cooked" buttercream frosting versus the confectioners sugar/butter beaten buttercream frosting. It is light and fluffy, not cloying and sweet like supermarket frostings. It colors well, and can take on varying flavors like orange, vanilla, almond extract, etc. The flour-milk roux does not have to ball up (although I have had it do so), it merely needs to thicken and cool before adding to the sugar and butter. Whole-wheat flour doesn't work well, so forget about trying to be healthier. In lieu of all butter, my mother used to use half butter, half shortening, and it worked surprisingly well. I have used both confectioners and regular sugar, however,it is important that the regular sugar is creamed with the butter until it is no longer grainy. You can use Baker's or castor sugar (which is regular sugar ground up to be finer)or grind your regular sugar up a bit in your food processor. The cake should be at room temperature when served, or the frosting will taste stiff and greasy. Use it all, it is not great leftover for the same reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 400) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States