Best Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I give this recipe a 5, but I DID make this change: I use 1/3 cup flour, mix it AND the sugar together, THEN add the milk and cook until thick. Cool and add vanilla and butter after. Excellent light and fluffy frosting, perfect for Waldorf Astoria cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by headoverfeet

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I didn't see any reduction in grittiness until I combined flour mix with butter mix. The sugar never completely disolved. Followed instructions to the letter. I beat my sugar/butter for 20 min total. Beat flour/milk and butter mixture for 10 min. After all that I ended up adding cream and powdered sugar to make it sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
My grandmother's recipe is almost the same, and it's AMAZING. Tips to make this work: 1. Use 5 Tbs of Flour 2. You need to cook that flour and milk until it's the consistency of brownie batter. I stir and stir and stir until it's difficult to stir anymore!!! 3. Beat the hell out of the butter and sugar until the sugar is barely recognizable anymore. I am talking kitchenaid med-high speed for about 8-10 minutes. Stop to scrape down every now and then. This is essential to get a smooth consistency and no crunchy sugar! And this is all before adding the vanilla. Make sure it's creamed properly before doing so. 4. Beat the entire thing together until it's fluffy. That means don't turn off the machine until you have fluffy wonderful creamy consistency of icing. It looks like it's separated in the beginning, it's okay, just keep mixing and mixing and mixing. I promise it will eventually all blend together!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I made this with a hand mixer. I mixed for 15 minutes and it was still grainy and I used superfine sugar. I switched over to my kitchen aid and it was smooth in about 5 minutes. Next time I won't use a hand mixer for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This was the lightest, fluffiest frosting I have ever eaten. Not too sweet. I used this for cupcakes for a friend's wedding and it got rave reviews! I took the advice of another reviewer and beat the flour mixture in for about 15 minutes on high in my KitchenAid. Turned out beautiful! For optimum flavor you really should make it the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ami Austin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I tried this tonight after carefully reading reviews. Thought I wouldn't botch it up but i did somehow. I got the milk/flour thing down right but the end result was not a good consistency. I don't know if I over beat it at the end. Or the only other problem I think might have been the butter was not 100% rm temp. I did cream the butter & sugar for 20-25 min so it wasn't gritty. You can see the butter separating and it looks terrible! it still tasted ok. Any suggestions where I went wrong? I do want to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This is the best frosting I've ever had. I have used this every time I need to impress people AND IT WORKS :) I have made this for my hospital parties, my daughters pre-school parties, superbowl..-this frosting is a hit with all ages! Don't make this frosting if you don't want people hounding you for the recipe. Its not gritty, to sweet or greasy and it doesn't leave your mouth feeling "coated" like a lot of shortening based frostings. I use a very very similar recipe from this website http://tastykitchen.com/blog/2010/03/a-tasty-recipe-thats-the-best-frosting-ive-ever-had/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I have never heard of this recipe called buttercream before. We grew up calling it long john frosting. My mom got it from a baker in Minnesota who used it as his filling in his eclairs and cream puffs, but my mom used it as frosting. The only difference was instead of 4 tablespoons our recipe calls for 8 tablespoons of flour so the mixture is a bit more stiff, and I beat the cooled flour mixture with the electric mixer before I blend the two mixtures. it makes a great substitute to cream cheese frosting on a Red Velvet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I've looked for a super smooth and creamy frosting like this for a long time. Using superfine sugar is a very good tip, or else you have to beat it forever to get the coarser sugar to dissolve. If you use unsalted butter, add a pinch of salt; it needs it. Cook the milk and flour, stirring constantly, until you cannot stir down the boil. That will get rid of a flour taste and adds beautiful texture to the frosting. Have patience and follow directions. This frosting is a dream come true. NOTE: it does not "harden" nor develop an outer, drier layer. It stays very creamy and soft. Just perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States