Best Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Have patience and this will pay off. Don't use powder sugar, don't worry about forming a ball, and cool to room temp. I followed the recipe after reading a lot of the reviews. The one thing I did do was to gradually add the flour mixture. I also added some extra vanilla extract. I also wisked the butter and sugar with my stand mixer for a LONG time! Adding the flour mixture while it is at room temp helps break down the sugar. Mine is still slightly gritty, but nothing I could complain about. Be patient and this recipe will pay off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I tried this recipe many years ago. It's the best because I am concerned about the amount of sugar used for frosting. This recipe is not too sweet. Everybody who have tried my buttercake with this buttercream loved it. It's the buttercream that made it so special. When I tried the recipe for the first time, the milk and flour mixture got tiny lumps so I had to throw it away and do it again. The subsequent tries went well. Patience and practice makes it easier and easier. Use the lowest fire on your burner. Keep stirring the milk and four mixture ALL THE TIME. Remove the pan from burner if the mixture starts to thicken but keep stirring. The heat in the mixture will continue to cook the starchy mixture. When the mixture is starchy enough (like the creamy peanut butter consistency), sit the pan in cold or room temperature water and let the starch mixture cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cristina
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I am not generally a fan of butter cream frosting, however it was necessary for this particular batch of holiday cupcakes. After reading the reviews I was curious as to how this would end up. I used buttermilk with the flour instead of milk because I had some left over from another project and needed to use it before it went bad. I cooked over low-medium heat and stirred it almost continuously with a small whisk. When it got a little thicker than gravy, I took it off the heat and continued to stir. I creamed the butter and sugar while cooking the milk and flour. When everything was about room temp it all went in the mixer. I want the milk mixture to soften the butter a little so I put it in not completely cooled but definitely not hot. I followed other reviews and let the mixer go for it. After about 15 min I taste tested and it was smooth. I should have let it go a little longer because even though I scraped the sides several times there were still one or two gritty spots. Clearly I was taste testing all the way through. I could not believe how good it was. I must say it was a success. Everyone commented on how good the frosting was. It had an almost complex cream cheese type flavor. I used vanilla extract so I assume it was the buttermilk that really punched up the flavor. It was formed enough to pipe unto cupcakes, but probably not stiff enough to do some serious creative cake decor like flowers etc. I bet that can be remedied with some tweaking here or there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I give this recipe a 5, but I DID make this change: I use 1/3 cup flour, mix it AND the sugar together, THEN add the milk and cook until thick. Cool and add vanilla and butter after. Excellent light and fluffy frosting, perfect for Waldorf Astoria cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by headoverfeet

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I didn't see any reduction in grittiness until I combined flour mix with butter mix. The sugar never completely disolved. Followed instructions to the letter. I beat my sugar/butter for 20 min total. Beat flour/milk and butter mixture for 10 min. After all that I ended up adding cream and powdered sugar to make it sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
My grandmother's recipe is almost the same, and it's AMAZING. Tips to make this work: 1. Use 5 Tbs of Flour 2. You need to cook that flour and milk until it's the consistency of brownie batter. I stir and stir and stir until it's difficult to stir anymore!!! 3. Beat the hell out of the butter and sugar until the sugar is barely recognizable anymore. I am talking kitchenaid med-high speed for about 8-10 minutes. Stop to scrape down every now and then. This is essential to get a smooth consistency and no crunchy sugar! And this is all before adding the vanilla. Make sure it's creamed properly before doing so. 4. Beat the entire thing together until it's fluffy. That means don't turn off the machine until you have fluffy wonderful creamy consistency of icing. It looks like it's separated in the beginning, it's okay, just keep mixing and mixing and mixing. I promise it will eventually all blend together!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I made this with a hand mixer. I mixed for 15 minutes and it was still grainy and I used superfine sugar. I switched over to my kitchen aid and it was smooth in about 5 minutes. Next time I won't use a hand mixer for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
This was the lightest, fluffiest frosting I have ever eaten. Not too sweet. I used this for cupcakes for a friend's wedding and it got rave reviews! I took the advice of another reviewer and beat the flour mixture in for about 15 minutes on high in my KitchenAid. Turned out beautiful! For optimum flavor you really should make it the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corning, New York, USA
Living In: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I tried this tonight after carefully reading reviews. Thought I wouldn't botch it up but i did somehow. I got the milk/flour thing down right but the end result was not a good consistency. I don't know if I over beat it at the end. Or the only other problem I think might have been the butter was not 100% rm temp. I did cream the butter & sugar for 20-25 min so it wasn't gritty. You can see the butter separating and it looks terrible! it still tasted ok. Any suggestions where I went wrong? I do want to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States