Best Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Lbaldt
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I followed this Recipe fully... and I thought it was amazing... I usually buy these creme filled Donuts from a Bakery in my area... and I love the cream filling... the Baker told me it was just Butter Cream Frosting... When I tasted this icing recipe I was amazed at how much it tasted like the cream inside the Donuts... This is a keeper for sure...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lbaldt

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Good but took a long, long time to get the graininess out. I whipped the sugar and butter for 45 minutes on high in my Kitchen Aid and then added the flour/milk mix. That only needed a minute to mix. I do not like confectioners sugar, too sweet for me so I am pleased with this recipe but it does take time and patience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This is a very old recipe, used by my grandmother and great grandmother exactly as written here. The milk/flour once it reaches a boil begins to thicken and looks like kids paste-that's what you're going for, then COOL it thoroughly. The recipe is for REGULAR sugar not confectioners sugar and to use confectioners sugar does not work properly. Once the 'paste' is cooled cream together the butter and white sugar well before combining the two mixtures. Then let it beat on stand mixer at least 10 minutes. It is the best frosting ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
I felt like a real gourmet! The flavor was fantastic. The texture really comes together. Read the reviews & follow the directions. Be patient. I was a little skeptical, but it worked great. One reviewer gave a temperature reading that was helpful for cooling the flour/milk mixture - 85 degrees. I also made sure I stirred the mixture as it cooled. I beat the butter and sugar for a good while (watched Downton Abbey finale) as the flour/milk cooled. The recipe as listed made enough to frost a 2 layer, 9" round cake with a bit left over. I paired the frosting with Heavenly White Cake submitted by Carol on Allrecipes.com Love this site & the reviews - so helpful for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This recipe, to tell you the truth, disappointed me. From all the good reviews and the amazing pictures, I imagined a much, well, better, frosting. The texture was very strange, and it was kind of tasteless. To fix this I added more vanilla than the recipe called for. This recipe should also add steps saying what it looks like at each stage. I wasn't sure if I was doing it right, even though I followed the recipe very thoroughly. Even though I am disappointed with this recipe, the final result wasn't as bad as I thought it would be... hence the extra vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This is the best frosting in the world and I have made it 40 to 60 times. There is no ball, that is a candy making term. I use about 8-10 tbls of flour and cook until very, very thick (heat slowly to a low boil). If it is not thick add more flour. Remeber that this flour mixture will be the only thing binding your frosting together. I would never use powdered sugar in this. Most people use it because that is what everyone uses. If you want a frosting at is not overly sweet use this recipie. If you want chocolate frosting add about 2 oz. of melted but cool baker’s chocolate when combining
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I chose to try this recipe based on a few of the great reviews. After all the time and work I put into this frosting it came out lumpy. The frosting taste was good but the consistency did not come out so well at all. It was almost like cottage cheese. I do not recommend this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hollinhead77
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Ok let me start by saying after reading the reviews I went into this with major patience. I ended up with a hot mess in a bowl. Too sweet and despite beating it within an inch of the poor bowl's life it was still slightly gritty. Maybe next time I will try powdered sugar or a half and half mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hollinhead77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I tried this recipe for the 1st time for my husbands 40th birthday cake and his first reaction was "wow this isn't store bought is it!" Thank you this was simple and delicious!!! Just take the time to really cream the butter and the sugar so it's fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This did not turn out at all. It did thicken eventually, but the flour mixture never became a ball, so after about twenty minutes I decided to stop cooking/whisking and let it cool to room temperature. Once added to the butter mixture it ended up full of lumps. A half hour in my stand mixture didn't help. I really didn't care for the flavor of this either. Sorry - I was really hoping for a back-up frosting for those days I run out of powdered sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANMC4
Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 401) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States